Venez nous rejoindre et passez du temps avec nous dans notre coin de paradis subtropical près de Nimbin en Australie

  • Enregistré comme favori 451 fois
  • Activité récente: 9 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We live on 36 beautiful acres 5 minutes from the iconic village of Nimbin in the Northern Rivers region of New South Wales.

    We are escapees from the rat race that is Sydney. We moved to live surrounded by nature and to have some space to raise our children.

    Bart works from home and Cat is a full time mum to our three children, aged 8, 6 and 3.

    We are seperated and as such Bart and Findlay (our 8 year old) live in Nimbin full time. Cat and the other two kids visit from time to time. In reality this means periods of peace and quiet interspersed with chaos when all the kids are around.

    There are many interesting and unusual subtropical fruit and nut trees scattered all around our place. In fact we likely haven't found them all yet.

    We are into healthy eating although we have the odd relapse now and then. We are not vegetarian but can accommodate vegetarians. If you are vegan we would be happy to provide food but you would need to cook for yourself.

    We don't have TV although our Internet connection is very good.

    There is a pool and even an outdoor spa if we have sufficient water. We are 3.8km out of Nimbin so walking is certainly an option and hitching is quite usual in the area. There is also a bike if you like to ride. We will be more than willing to give you a lift whenever we are headed to town.

    There is abundant bird life, wallabies in the back paddock and there are echidnas but they are very shy. Bandicoots and possums are out at night and are harder to spot.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Come and experience the Australian bush in our subtropical paradise. You will have the opportunity to be part of our family while you stay and be involved in day to day life.

    We are very interested in permaculture and are slowly applying permaculture principles to our land. This is a long and ongoing project that will take many years.
    We have fish, geese, turkeys, chickens, ducks, alpacas and three cows. We have recently finished a large vegetable garden and aquaponics setup. Nimbin holds it's Mardigrass festival in May and Roots festival in October.

    You will also have ample opportunity to explore the local region with it's array of market days and it's colourful locals.

    The town of Lismore is 30 minutes drive away and the coast with it's beautiful beaches only an hour. The famous Byron bay is just over an hours drive.

    There are many great swimming holes and waterfalls in the local area that you can visit in your spare time.

    If you are staying in Byron Bay there is the "grass hoppers" bus that runs daily from Byron to Nimbin for $20. There are also other bus options running from Lismore and Murwillumbah as well as the Gold coast. Of course we are happy to pick you up from Nimbin.

    Recently some of our guests have used Uber to travel to us. I understand it is around $140 from Ballina and about $160 from the Gold coast airport. This is certainly not the cheapest option, but it may represent the easiest.

    Lismore has recently suffered from two devistating floods and is slowly but surely recovering.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are so many projects we'd like help with it's hard to list them all.

    Land care, helping with irrigation installation to assisting renovation around the house as well as some house work and or cooking. Currently we need help with clearing, gardening, looking after animals, painting and some carpentry.

    There are cows, alpacas, fish, geese, turkeys, ducks and chickens to feed, animal systems to develop, paddocks to mow, concreting of paths, the list goes on.

    Entertaining our children is something we are always willing to accept help with.

    There are so many projects we are sure to be able to find something that suits your skills and interests. We really want to make your stay with us fun and enjoyable.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a couple of options for accommodation:
    1. We have a caravan for you to stay in. It is in a pleasant spot on the property, with everything you’ll need. It provides a nice private spot for you to chill out in. Yet you can also come to our - slightly kid crazy - house anytime for tea and interaction. The caravan is currently occupied by someone staying for a few months so not available in the short term.

    2. A guest room in our house. It is seperated from the main part of the house so provides a degree of privacy yet all the creature comforts of living in the main house.

    Its worth noting that in having young kids things are constantly pretty crazy at our house. You would need to be comfortable with this. They can be pretty feisty yet also a lot of fun too. As described above this has quietened down somewhat as all of the kids are only around some weekends.

    Of course there is also the option for you to pitch your own tent anywhere you like on our land if that is more your thing.

    You have access to an abundance of food, which we discuss and organise once you arrive. On the first night, we invite you to join us at dinner time as we like to get to know you and welcome you to our place. Evening meals are sometimes shared with the family and in this case we expect you contribute to either the cooking or cleaning up at the evening meal.
    The number of shared meals will vary and depends on what level of crazyness is going on at any given time.
    If we are not cooking then you will prepare and cook your own meals from the food we supply.
    We are happy to work with you within reason to provide the type of food you like to eat. However we are unable to satisfy requests such as exclusively organic food etc. It is best if you are upfront initialy about any specific dietry requirements or prefferences you have so as to ensure we are able to accommodate them.

    It is important to add we live rurally and you may encounter snakes. Many of our snakes are pythons which are not venomous and help to keep more dangerous species away. Not everyone is comfortable having them around so be sure you’re ok with this before asking to stay! We are happy to go over some snake education on your arrival if needed too.

    As with any rural property in our area, we have ticks around. Again we can explain how to manage these little critters.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Internet is Starlink and the WIFI is good. Although no dedicated office space to use the Wi-Fi works well in the caravan and tlenty of other places to hang out.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 618588151976

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Peaceful farm setting only minutes from town. Close to attractions and gyms, coffee shops etc.
Learn about community living and life off grid in Crescent Head, NSW, Australia