Help me to restore my lemon orchard and explore around Batsi, Greece

Country

Grèce

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 42 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    79.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four. My grandfather used to cultivate this land. Big part of it was a Lemon Tree orchard but I got involved with a city job... Most of the Lemon Trees are dead and the remaining have been neglected for years. I have decided to replant and return my small field to it's old glory and looking for volunteers to help with this project.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workawayers will have the opportunity to experience work at a fertile field. I have started a small vegetable garden that I wish to expand since we have lots of naturally running water. Our goal is to reset this land to it's old glory using permaculture, eco-building and small scale farming, all with organic and natural methods. The truth is we do not know too much (maybe nothing) about farming so volunteers with similar experience can teach us or give us ideas about what to do. If you have no experience that is ok. We will all learn together and become a team. Youtube and locals will provide lots of valuable information. You will have the opportunity to cook with me and immerse yourself in many traditional Greek recipes that we will prepare together.

  • Aide

    Aide

    At this early stage the field just needs cleanup. The workawayers can help me with weed and other wild plant removal, curtailing vines that are growing very aggressively everywhere and maybe give me ideas on how to reset and replant the field. They will also help me in watering areas for the farm, setting up plantation areas, taking care of surviving trees or removing dead ones, setting up a watering system, restoring the hencoop etc. There is one more property on the mountain that I have also decided to bring to life so we might have the opportunity to do some similar work there too.

  • Langues parlées

    Greek: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Life in Greek nature is both peaceful and rewarding. The climate is mild steadily over 25 Celsius without any rain in the summer so living outdoors is a charm! You will live in the farm that is quite primitive either in tents or small self made eco structures that will be developed for you/with you. We will provide all necessary infrastructure for your accommodation (mattress beddings or whatever). The farm has a natural stream running through it. Water is provided by an adjacent fresh spring. You can also get bottled water from the village. You will have 24hour access to free wifi on the field or through a data connection on the mountain.

    We will provide cooking facilities dishes cookware assortment stuff like spices, cooking oil etc for the workawayers to cook. They will shop locally or when there is some production on the field they will use ingredients from the field. Depending on my free time I will occasionally prepare a local dish or cook with you traditional Greek recipes.

    In the winter we will provide accommodation at an adjacent house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Since I will have lots of other work to do I will not have more than a few hours a day (at best) to spend in the field. Rest assured though that there are many things that you can do around the place. Six beaches within walking distance so you can spend lots of time at the sea. Me or a friend will always be accessible and available for you. Batsi village is a picturesque Andros hotspot with all modern conveniences.

    This summer (2021) we had the opportunity to do lots of cleaning wild growth etc. We planted the first 4 lemon trees an a whole lots of other fruit trees. But the Proud Lemon is big and work at a farm never comes to an end and maintenance efforts are constant.

    Andros is well known as a hiking destination in Greece and the Cyclades Islands so if you love hiking you will have many opportunities to make local hikes in nature. If I have time or the opportunity I will take you to some of these places by car but do not worry. You will be very close to the village of Batsi. From there you can take the bus to the capital of Andros Chora or use it to do remote hikes at other parts of the Island.

    Andros is full of lush nature and running water (as you will witness first hand right in the field) so rest assured that you will have no time to get bored!

    BUT.... Mykonos island is only two hours away by boat and within reach of a day visit from Andros...

    Search the internet for all the exciting things Andros Island and the village of Batsi have to offer.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 617354667712