Come and help us with foraging on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 107 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.01.2021

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for help foraging wild foods! And
    general help around home and garden this is for personal help not for our business

    ***WE ARE ALL FILLED UP FOR SUMMER


    My girlfriend and I own a very small, humble distillery on the West Coast of Vancouver Island, British Columbia
    , Canada
    ( 20 minutes from Tofino). Our Home is a 5 minute walk from the pacific ocean with beaches perfect for surfing, snorkeling or just hanging out. I am a fourth generation distiller that takes great pride in my craft. I ferment using my own wild yeast culture. After being open for a year the vodka won the silver medal in the Canadian national competition and the gin took the bronze. We are now getting much busier and don’t have time to pick the wild botanicals we use for Cooking over the winter.This will include picking them, bringing them back to our house, dehydrating them and vacuum packing the dehydrated botanicals. We also will be looking for help with peeling island grown fruit in order to make jam and general help around the house. Last year we randomly had someone walk into the distillery and ask if we did work exchanges and it was such and incredible experience. Now we would like to have Workawayers help with our home life.
    !I usually finish work between 2-5pm and after that we can tour around, go surfing or just explore the area, we are basically trading an experience of The West Coast, so you can choose the adventure! We are based in a very small town, if you want to experience the beautiful west coast of vancouver island this is a great place for you, but if you are looking for more amenities like a mall or fast food this is probably is not the best fit. Comes with a private room. We have a lovely dog named Frankie and a friendly budgie bird named Paco. Looking for help for July foraging mainly Salal berry.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    you can learn about wild vegetation while exploring a coastal forest, I used to work as a forest engineer and we will spend a fair amount of time in the woods learning about edible vegetation that have been relied on by people for thousands of years . I am also a fourth generations distiller and while I won’t tell you all my family secrets I will definitely teach you the basics of making world class spirits.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In July I will need help Hand picking wild botanicals in coastal forest, dehydrating the botanicals in my dehydrator and then vacuum packing them in my vacuum packer, In october I will need help peeling island grown fruit such as apples and putting the peels in a dehydrator, grating the fruit flesh and making jam out of it, and cutting the fruit cores vacuum packing them and placing them in the freezer.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Room and board included, private room in our house with a queen bed, we have wifi and all the usual ammenities

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Surfing, snorkeling, beach fires , hiking, picking wild oysters, and just hanging out at the beach, there ais usualy some decent live music on weekend in town.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    10-3

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




N° de référence hôte : 612524735428