English School in Bos Khnor looking for enthusiastic workawayers in Cambodia



Enregistré comme favori 78 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

  • Description


    Hello my name is Kda and I live in small village called Bos Khmer in Saray, Kompong Cham province, East of Phonm Penh. I run a small school from my family home where my guest also sleep in a private room, adjascent to the classroom with a mat and mosquito net.

    The lessons are given to local children who pay $2.5 dollars a month for 3 lessons Monday to Friday and 2 lessons Saturday and Sunday. The lessons vary from very basic level 1 ABC learning to level 3 using small words and sentances.

    Workawayers are invited to contribute to these lessons and help progress the learning of English in new ways. In exchange they will get a room, all food and water provided as well as a caring family home to explore and enjoy.

    The food is delicious and sourced local from the market and surrounding gardens. My wife is a talented cook who can provide for different dietary requirements.

    The journey from Phnom Penh is only $2.5 let person by my friends taxi (picked up from Ouoesey market) and it takes around 3.5 hours. There a rest stops along the way to buy fruit and snacks.

    Due to our remote location it is difficult at times to source new teaching equipment and resources. Therefore, if you plan to stay with us and can bring any educational resources such as books or posters this would be greatly appreciated.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My wife and I will fully involve you in our daily family life. You can visit the local market with my wife to prepare ingredients for dinner and we can teach you basic Khmer language too to help with your ongoing trip.

    Our village is small and we can talk to you about our culture and show you local fruit trees and feed you local river fish!

  • Aide


    We would love you to help us to teach English to our students. Even if you have no teaching experience you can talk to the students about yourself and your travelling experiences. We work from simple English books so you always have these to refer to.

    For those experienced in teaching I'd love to hear more creative ideas about how to teach my students to the best ability.

    Also, we'd love go add some artistic murals to our school and home to add extra colour and inspiration for the children! If you're handy with a paint brush and would like to create something beautiful please also get in touch!

    Thank you

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Khmer: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We will offer food and a bed in return for your help. The bed is on the second floor, behind the classroom in a room behind a curtain door. There is a hammock and blankets on the floor to sleep on. There is also power points and a working electric fan plus mosquito nets. We do not ask for any money from you, just that you share your English skills and help make our school even more special. We also have three bicycles if you'd like to explore the area.

    We will provide drinking water and there meals a day. My wife can cater to various dietary requirements.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    My village is 3 hours from both Angkor Wat Temples and the city of Phnom Penh. In our village we have a local food and clothing market and the closest Wi-Fi connection is a 3 minute walk from my home at a coffee shop.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 589525252133