Help with organic gardening and converting found objects into something useful in Newlyn North, just outside of Daylesford, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 18 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.05.2020

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a hedge maze, set in a country carnival garden - just 10 mins from Daylesford. Our garden and house are built on sustainable principles and we produce a lot of food for ourselves and our cafe.

    Together with my partner Chris and son Dom we maintain the hedge and garden and old time carnival games, cook and run the cafe for this tourist attraction. We are open to the public on weekends and school holidays. Our place is not a mainstream tourist attraction, but appeals to people that love mazes, gardens, nostalgic games and activities, good food and coffee.

    Our maze is set in a sustainable working garden which has a large vegetable garden, orchards, firewood lot, chooks, perennial beds, flower cutting garden, indigenous vegetation and a stream running through the property. Also a border collie Dexter who is loveable, but no help at all!

    We would love some help with gardening - pruning fruit trees and trees for timber, cutting back perennials, planting vegetables, composting and seed collection. And we can always do with some help from people who like fixing things (there is always repairs to our games). Any one who can build, paint and create is welcome to try their hand at creating new kooky elements for our attraction.

    We are happy to pick up and drop off in Daylesford and drop you in there most days if you want to explore.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Daylesford area is renown for artists and sustainable living so there is lots to see and learn. The town itself set on an extinct volcano and has historic buildings, beautiful gardens and lakes. The town is surrounded by native forest with lots of trails for walking and mountain bike riding.

    Many small food producers have made the area their home, so that there is a lot of locally produced vegetables, meat and products, such as bread.

    Our property is set in rich volcanic farm land 12 km from Daylesford and half an hour from the regional centre of Ballarat. We have transformed our 5 acres into a productive garden that offers some old time fun!

    We are avid collectors and have been able to convert our pieces into garden and cafe installations that bring a sense of humour to our business. As well as art, we are interested in landscape design, food production and vegetation management in the face of climate change.

    We are pretty sporty, playing tennis, mountain bike riding bush walking and Dom is into Australian rules football and basketball. We love music, read a lot are interested in current affairs.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our place is suited to 2 people - a couple of friends. We would love some help in our organic garden. In autumn there is pruning, composting, mulching, sowing vegetables and preserving fruit and vegetables. In winter we will be adding garden beds, planting a cricket pitch and pruning and mulching. Spring is a busy time for grass cutting and weeding and summer requires pruning as well as fruit picking.

    I am a trained forester and horticulturalist with a specialty in revegetation, farm forestry and seed collection so enjoy sharing these skills. As you can imagine Chris is a master hedge pruner who knows everything about maintaining healthy hedges.

    We are always keen to get help from anyone that has an artistic bent as we are always adding new interactive attractions to our garden.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A bedroom for 2 people and own bathroom. We have a big house with 2 living areas so it is easy to share time with us as well as have some space. We can also arrange for you to spend time a night or 2 in Daylesford where you can sample the local night life.

    We have a large commercial kitchen and cook a lot of our own fruit and vegetables. We eat meat and try to source it locally where we can. We cook to make the most of the fresh produce with Asian and southern European influences. Happy for any assistance and experimentation with cooking.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 584416127413