Vivez dans une ferme sous les tropiques humides et aidez-nous avec notre plantation d'arbres durable tout en apprenant à chaque étape. Cartago au Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Enregistré comme favori 186 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    432

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Erika, William, Ginnee and Kristofer. Our family farm was established roughly 15 years ago. We are located in the wet tropics of Costa Rica where we get lots of rain, but it’s cool, we have an amazing rain forest on our property because of it. We have a massive property, nearly 600 hectares, well over half of it is rain forest and the other half we farm.

    We support ourselves with various income sources like many family farms in the region. We have a rainforest in protection for which we get paid a small amount, backhoe and tractor for hire, rural tourism activities, sugar cane, livestock and bamboo. We try to grow most of the food that we eat; we would like to expand on this as well. We have a fruit forest, chickens, turkeys, rabbits, tilapia, and gardens already established.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We absolutely love where we live out here in the mountains on the road to nowhere. Life in the country side is good for the soul. Each person will have their own personal perspective of their time with us of course, but this place has lots of character to be found.

    The first thing to be gained would be the experience of living surrounded by such natural beauty. We have tons of jungle and wildlife to be explored, over 22 waterfalls, a large river that comes through the farm, amazing views of the surrounding mountains, bird galore for birdwatching and on a clear sky day there is even a view of the volcano. Our 1,270 acre property includes primary forest in carbon credit protection, pastures for our livestock, sugar cane, bamboo, egg laying chickens, tilapia, fruit trees, gardens, rural tourism activities and plant nursery.

    Our little village has roughly 15 houses and most of the people who live here are from the same large family. There is a small one room school house with maybe 6 or 8 students. There are more vehicles these days, but many of our neighbors still get around on foot and public transportation, we are in many ways in some semi time warp. I think all of the neighbors now have indoor plumbing at this point. We had to add bathrooms to our homes when we purchased them. Tromping through a downpour in the middle of the night to the outhouse was not going to work out.

    There is an indigenous reservation way up in the mountains, they enter and exit via our farm. It’s an 8 or 10 hour hike for conditioned hikers, maybe 4 hours for the indigenous. We have some interaction with them as our farm has long been a staging area for unloading, storing and then loading materials and food to go up. We are more than happy to help. It’s tricky, you want to help, but not intrude on them. We have can arrange hikes up with the indigenous during the dry season, but’s only for the physically fit. Volunteers in the past have gone up to the reservation, it’s another world.

    I will keep expanding on our profile as things come to mind that merit being mentioned, but there it is. We think it’s pretty neat for people to experience our life for a short moment in time. Here we are living in a rural agricultural village in the middle of this amazingly beautiful location. Working and living the farm life in paradise is pretty amazing all on its own.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would like to host volunteers who are interested in working on our farm participating in our daily farm tasks and larger projects.

    Please note that we are only accepting volunteers for stays of a month or more, and who are 23 and up. We like working with a mature group of people.

    Also note that we are a real deal working farm with tons of work to be done. Plans and tasks can change from one moment to the other because of weather, escaped animals, equipment failure and surprise opportunities. (It can really be pretty random.) So, we may not work on everything listed below during your potential visit. Farm work can be hard, sweaty and dirty, maybe even muddy at times. We ask you to consider all of these things before contacting us.

    We are always: taking care of cows, pigs, chickens, turkeys, ducks, rabbits, tilapia and a random goat.

    What we are doing right now: March 2018: We are trying to finish up the planting of our sustainable tree plantation. We are loading and hauling firewood. We are installing 9 meter tall cement poles for electric service to the center of the farm. Expansion and clean up of our camping area.

    What are we trying to get to in the coming months: Curing bamboo will soon happen. Some sustainable building with materials from the farm. Latex cement roofing applied to old roofs. Applying a plastic liner and then cement to the interior of our next tilapia lagoon. Establishing gardens as landscaping (foodscaping).

    Note: Applicants should be self motivated and flexible as well as be able to able to take direction. Work starts at 7 am so we can finish at noon for lunch.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Spanish and English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our guest house for volunteers is located in the town below the farm. Volunteers will be provided hearty meals and lodging. Snacks are not provided (meals are huge). Volunteers may need to cook some of their meals, but ingredients will be provided. We are unable to host vegans at this time and will only accept very flexible vegetarians.

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    We do not provide transportation down the mountain or to town. There is a bus that comes to the bottom of the mountain a few times a day....it is walk-able up and down. If you are not working and we are going to town, we can give you a ride if there is space to join us.

    Your weekends are yours to adventure on or off site. We can help you line up adventures to the beach and etc. if needed. There is plenty to do in the area as well.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







N° de référence hôte : 581337759626