Help a family property in vibrant walking neighborhood in Oakland, California, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 735 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Keep reading if you are curious to experience a very small co-housing property (3 units)~ We are grateful to be connected with a circle of neighbors we trust and enjoy.

    UPDATE October 2020 "Coronavirus and fires- oh my!" edition...

    We might have a spot - our last helper left at the top of October...

    We imagine that it would probably be best for a couple (or two friends) so that you have people to socialize with freely, but we're open to just one.

    Important to be someone who is comfortable around the kids (ages 4 and 6), as well as the dogs. Also, our daughter just started going to a daycare and our son goes to an aftercare program. Just means that you have to be comfortable with that level of COVID exposure.

    Ideally perhaps one of you would have house experience (cleaning, organizing, cooking, walking the dogs, help with running errands, gardening) the other ideally has some experience with tools (construction/ or the spirit to learn/focus on DIY projects around the property for example, landscaping).

    Of course, we will consider an individual person as well. Bonus if you already know some people in the area (definitely been hard to meet new people during the pandemic).

    ********
    We hope you are well, as we are, even as many people are facing incredible hardship in the face of this pandemic.

    You will read in the basic information about us below that we are a co-housing-ish property. Our children 6 year old is distance learning from home and our 4 year old is at daycare.

    We request that you consider the following:

    --You are honest and like staying on the safer side (regarding COVID-19). You would join our written COVID-19 safety agreements. They may change, but with our current agreements you would have to keep socializing with others outside of our group to outdoors and at distance. We have meetings to talk when needed (if people need to be added).
    --We get along best with people who are oriented to the outdoors. We love hiking, running, biking, swimming, yoga and are grateful that there is so much nature to explore.
    --You must be comfortable around children and dogs.
    -- We strongly prefer someone with a drivers license (may need help with getting groceries or running an errand).
    -- Flying/ bus/train here? Be willing to get a couple tests and do some quarantining for the process (working outside for the few days while you self-isolate and get free test here). Even better: be in the area already, or who can drive here without airports buses or trains involved.

    This would be for two months at minimum, and ideally 3 or more.

    If you read this and do match all of it, please let us know in the subject saying "I read your conditions- we match" since most emails are typically generic.

    ********
    Our NORMAL profile:

    We enjoy hosting travelers~ so cool to meet new interesting people and learn about different cultures! We have been hosting since August 2017. Today, we still keep in touch with our over a dozen of our "Workaway family" and several have returned for visits short and long.

    Workaway has been incredible for our family. We have learned that it works best if it is what we Americans call "win--win." What do you hope to learn from the Workaway volunteer experience? We will try our best to connect you to reach your goals! (Example: I am happy to have weekly conversations with someone who wants to expand their English skills.) On the flip side, we appreciate the extra hands/help. So difficult for us to run the property alone. We lead a very dynamic life (flexible schedules to make sure that we have time to strive for our balance of family, neighbors, friends, WORK, healthy food & fitness, nature, urban events and nightlife).

    Main Need= *House helper person/s.*
    PREFERRED but not necessary: Spanish speaking (our kids both attended Spanish schools)

    MUST HAVES (TOP 5): for the house helper persons (25 hours a week for room+board)
    1. you LOVE DOGS (we have two: Tika and Boo (medium+small but large personalities)
    and walking/taking care of them= 5+ hours a week (not all on you!)
    2. you are an experienced and SAFE DRIVER (we often need help with driving errands) probably 1-2 times a week.
    3. you are comfortable around and ENJOY CHILDREN (we have two: a 6 year old boy and 4 year old girl) Our children wake the house up around 7:30a and have an incredibly bright life: enjoying school, playing with friends, drawing, being outside!
    4. you enjoy KEEPING TIDY. (your private room is small but bright. our weekly housekeeper for our house has been with us 15 years and we keep trying to live in a clean and inspiring space. Our housekeeper cleans our main house. We do ask for 5 hours a week to help clean at a pretty detailed level.
    5. you have CLEAR COMMUNICATION. (you are clear about your dates (+scheduling needs) and goals for the workaway volunteer experience. you are truly interested in experiencing Bay Area living and helping out. you can talk about challenges that come up in life. you are clear and comfortable with saying yes or no. we often share meals together (usually 2+ dinners per week, and weekend breakfasts, occasional lunches - we provide ingredients for the other meals).

    We provide healthy food, the small private room and lots of ideas to make your experience incredible!

    *********
    Workaway Handy Projects?
    *********
    We *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️always*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ enthusiastically consider people who have real experience working with TOOLS (painting,electrical, plumbing, drywall, etc) to work together on projects as they come up. Could be shorter 2-4 week stay. We are not currently hosting anyone (Sept 2020). With tools, you don't need strong extensive skills for that- we usually have someone to mentor on details, but tell us about your experience with tools and projects in your first message. "DIY" people super welcome!

    Also open to discussing other skills such as massage/yoga, specific video or computer/business skills might be useful. We have two different Workaway spaces: a private room for our *House helper* and a private attic space for *Workaway Handy projects*

    *******************
    OUR FAMILY & HOME
    *******************

    Julia is a high school teacher and Brian social impact entrepreneur live near Lake Merritt in Oakland with two young children two dogs. We enjoy connecting with people, traveling, nature, yoga, dance, music, healthy food...

    In one of Oakland's finest neighborhoods - green and calm, with super friendly neighbors, walking distance from many businesses, Lake Merritt, farmer's market, and downtown/subway, with easy transit to downtown, San Francisco, Berkeley and more.

    We're among four units in a new co-housing project (separate kitchens, but each provides a monthly meal, shared garden etc.) so there will be many friendly faces around.

    Brian is currently handling initial communications. We'll both do a Whatsapp interview before agreeing to anything if it looks like we could be a fit. Happy travels! Be safe.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a very social family, surrounded by neighbors we often share meals with, including another kid-and-dad, a traveller and tech guy, and surrounding apartments with families.

    A traveller could meet many interesting people, improve their English if from abroad, and see San Francisco, Berkeley, and California generally. Our house is a perfect location to explore the Bay Area. It is walking distance to the lake, shops, restaurants and the BART train.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Details are posted above. We work out weekly schedules for 25 hours of volunteering in exchange for room+board. People whose goals here include earning money could find well-paying work in the neighborhood (cleaning, gardening, handyman work).

    Ideally you would have house experience (cleaning, organizing, cooking, walking the dogs, help with running errands, gardening) the other ideally has some experience with tools (construction/ or the spirit to learn/focus on DIY projects around the property for example, landscaping).


    Our house and neighborhood (very central/ great walking neighborhood and public transportation, biking etc) are well suited for this so make it easy to host.

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our home is a gorgeous, large 1908 house with a very modern add-on unit and a set of very friendly neighbors with whom we frequently share meals. There are many different spaces to hang out.
    Our two private spaces that we host Workawayers in are both near the children's rooms, so best if our guest is not a light sleeper. (The children are mostly great sleepers).

    We have had many roommates and happily share our food (we eat mostly vegetarian).
    Dinner is usually 6-6:30 because of kiddos. We communicate when we need a "family dinner" (some private time 2-4 times a week). However, we have a table in the kitchen and in a dining room so there is space. We also have a huge shared deck outside.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It is really fun to live so close to Lake Merritt (great for jogging and picnics), and the "BART" (subway) is 15 minutes walk. New "bike share" program lets you bike from by our house to BART/downtown as well. The kids like walking to nearby playgrounds. Our work week is mostly quiet at home (sometimes meeting friends for dinner). We like to get out of the house on weekends. Our dogs love when we take them on hikes in the nearby hills.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have very high speed internet (nearly gigabit), a wired ethernet network, and mesh wi-fi network. It can drop out for a few seconds at a time but for most uses is quite strong.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Best for shorter stays. With Covid we're open to brief stays and outdoor projects to people that don't come inside the house, including some hours of bathroom access.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 or 6 hours a day, 5 days a week













N° de référence hôte : 579952611389