A peaceful place amongst the eucalyptus forests in the Byron Bay Hinterland, Australia

  • Enregistré comme favori 81 fois
  • Activité récente: 16 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Are you over 30 years old, a couple or independent solo traveler who appreciates the peaceful solitude of rural living?
    Do you have the confidence to work independently but also enjoy collaborative tasks?
    Is ‘sustainability’ an interest and you have experience in gardening, property maintenance or a practical trade skill?
    Can you cook, clean or enjoy being productive and finding ways to use your skills?
    If so … then a stay at our place may be of interest 😊

    Our home sits on a high ridge behind Mullumbimby and takes in majestic views from Mount Chincogan to Byron Bay and the ocean beyond. The property offers privacy and tranquillity in an incredibly beautiful, forest setting surrounded by 44 acres of native bush. There is a creek close by for swimming, trails for bush walking and places for sitting to soaking up the magic.

    Glenda and John are a retired couple and taking care of this wonderful property requires help from time to time. We want to leave this land in better shape than we found it. Our mission is to regenerate native rain forest in areas that have been overgrown with non native weeds and reestablish habitat for native wildlife. However, sustainable living … growing food, establishing and maintaining systems for harnessing natural resources and keeping our established gardens, roads and buildings in good condition; is the main focus of weekly tasks. Unfortunately, the devastating floods in our area in 2022 have created extra maintenance work and the need to renovate some parts of our house. Hence we have a few special building projects on the agenda for the coming year.

    A sense of humour, harmonious relationships and a peaceful environment are important to us. Glenda is a somatic movement therapist and John likes to make music. We spent a year backpacking around the world in 2010, then came back to Sydney and 'sold up' to buy an off-road caravan and traveled around Australia for 3 years before finding our dream home and next adventure (here) in 2016. So we understand the wonders of traveling ... amazing places, interesting people, being on an adventure and the journey of self-discovery.

    There is a genuine welcome here for interested and willing helpers to share our little piece of paradise, our life and our work for a few weeks.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Although we both grew up in rural environments, we have lived most of our adult lives managing businesses and raising our 3 children in the city. After a period of nomadic adventures we finally found our dream home in the Byron Bay Hinterland and have quickly learnt many new skills in regards to deepening our connection to the land, growing food, living sustainably and maintaining a rural property. As elders in our community we have journeyed far and wide, and are happy to share our stories and the wisdom of our many varied life experiences.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are always many projects on the go including, bush regeneration and weeding, seasonal pruning, fertilising and mulching fruit trees and native gardens plus maintaining the veggie patch. There’s also general household chores and maintenance that can provide variation to outside work. Special projects could be considered if our helpers had specific skills they were able to contribute. We greatly value input from our Workaway guests who have specialised skills and experience.

    We anticipate you would help for about 20-25 hours per week. Either 4-5 hours per day with 2 days off or any variation there of … we can be flexible and are happy to discuss the work/time/skill/meal exchange arrangements.

    Although we are both in our senior years, we are energetic and hard working. We also cherish our private time for creative hobbies, attending to our family or community commitments and for resting. So please note that while we may often be working alongside you, it is important that you are willing and able to work independently at times.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is in a clean and spacious room above our double garage, with large windows offering expansive views over the gardens and distant valley. It has a comfortable king sized bed which can be separated into two single beds if required. The room has built in wardrobes plus a table and chairs. Your own shower and toilet is located downstairs, as is a basic camp kitchenette.

    For 25 hours of ‘helping’ each week we would provide food for you to make your own breakfast and lunch. Evening dinners would usually be ‘communal’ and include help with cooking, sharing recipes and of course travel stories!

    We mostly eat a whole food diet, including animal products and are happy to accommodate vegetarians as long as you can help with the preparation of your meals and don’t mind if meat was also served at the table.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located about 15 minutes drive from Mullumbimby and 30 minutes from Byron Bay, there is no public transport nearby so you would need to have your own vehicle to thoroughly explore the surrounding areas. While Byron Bay is famous for its chilled out beach culture, there are many gems to be found in the hinterland … old growth forests, waterfalls and iconic villages are all within 30 to 60mins drive away.
    For helpers without their own transport, we are happy to get you to and from Mullumbimby, where there is a bus service for the local area and connections to the highway (north and south).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Campervans are ok but we don’t have a clear level space for caravans or buses.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 574834298624

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)






Family Farming Fun in Western Australia
Experience river side off-grid living by the stunning Ellenborough Falls near Taree NSW, Australia