Aidez-nous à transformer une ferme abandonnée et ses 4 ha de bois en habitat durable à Roadhead, RU

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 399 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are currently looking for one or two people to help With lime pointing and plastering and to plant vegetables and generally help with maintaining the garden *️️️️️ *️️️️️. *️️️️️️️️. *️️️

    Please note this is an opportunity for people passionate about living as part of a permaculture project, and is not suitable for students solely needing to gain experience in an English speaking country as a requirement of their university course..

    We live very much in community with volunteers here, so it’s important to us that you’re interested in our project and life style. And would like to spend time talking about things like composting toilets and how we educate our kids!

    So who would you be living with?

    We are Amy, Mike, Ada (13) and Eartha (5)
    We like amongst other things;

    Playing folk music
    Finding ways to live more in tune with the earth and those who live and grow upon it
    Being outside in the woods
    Drinking wine and making plans
    Working hard and feeling satisfied
    Home educating
    Cooking and eating good organic vegetarian food.
    Climbing
    Reading books that make us think

    We welcome people into our home who share some of these interests and would like to help us with our life long project. . . . Which is, . . well, so we bought a derelict 16th century farm house and 10 acres of land 2 years ago, and we're doing our best to turn it into a sustainable home and hopefully one day business!
    In the aim to create an ecologically sound house, so far we’ve employed old building techniques to tackle damp issues, built a composting toilet, and put in a wood and solar heating and hot water System, with mostly solar electric too, our future plans include a wind turbine, and rainwater harvesting on a grander scale than just for the garden!
    In our home life we’re also continually trying to make improvements, so though we do go to the supermarket from time to time, we get most of our vegetables from the organic project down the road, we buy lots of our seeds nuts and cereals from a plastic free stall and we’re big fans of second hand clothes, and we’re starting up our own vegetable garden, and wood coppice here, though these projects have a lot of developing still to do!

    Amy is heading up the building and agro forestry side of things while Mike earns some money to keep us all afloat, and the kids join in and also have all sorts of their own projects going on too!

    We're trying to take the best from old and new to achieve our goal so for example we're intergrating new technologies such as solar energy with ancient techniques like Coppicing trees for firewood to meet our energy needs.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Eco-volontariat

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will gain as much as you are willing to put in:) we are very open people happy to share skills knowledge and experiences, ask questions and share your thoughts and we will do the same!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Most of all we need people who are enthusiastic and passionate about our project and way of life!

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English and a little spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Volunteers stay with us in our home, we have a small bedroom, for a single person, two friends or a couple
    We all cook, eat and socialise together in our house. Which is very basic but it does have a cooker, water, shower, composting toilet and wood burning stoves.

    The house we are working on, is also the one we are living in! so often we have to move rooms around and accept a certain amount of dust and mess, depending of what we are working on!

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    We live in north Cumbria, about half an hours drive from carlisle, which is the nearest city. The area is very rural, remote. Our house is on the edge of a small village but there is no shop, cafe , bus or train for about 12 miles.
    Come here to get away from town or city life and tourist attractions, enjoy the quietness of the countryside.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours a week

Our lovely chickens hopefully soon to be joined by a. Purple of pigs!


























N° de référence hôte : 572714985686