Help us out with our homestead and regenerative farm in Ginestar, Spain



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 718 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We're a family of four living in a small stone casita on an 8 acre piece of land in Catalonia. Our aim is to establish a self-sufficient homestead while farming almonds and olives using agroforestry, regenerative agriculture and permaculture practices. We're interested in growing food for ourselves and others whilst building soil and healing the land. We're trying to live as simply and sustainably as we can and unlearn some of our 'civilised' habits.

    We're a sociable bunch and enjoy conversation, good food/drink and musical happenings.

    Before we came to settle here five years ago we 'unschooled' our boys and spent a year driving around the Mediterranean in a big Hymer motorhome.

    I (Selina) have a particular interest and some knowledge in herbal medicine and aim to grow an extensive herb garden in the years to come. I also have a small plant stall at the local market that I'm hoping to grow and expand.

    I have a deep passion for nurturing our connections to land and life and hope to continue to share and deepen that love.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We're happy to share all our learning up to date on permaculture and regenerative agriculture practices as well as any other knowledge we've gained by travelling and living in the Catalunyan countryside. Helpers will get a feel for 'life on the land' and how regenerative agriculture and permaculture can be part of the solution for a changing climate. Our children speak Catalan and the adults get by with cobbled together Spanish and Catalan. We enjoy discussions, communal meals and occasional music-making.

    I (Selina) have started herbalism studies and may be able to offer some beginner knowledge for interested folks

    This area of Catalonia offers much for lovers of the outdoors and our immediate surroundings are rural and very beautiful. There are opportunities for walking, cycling and kayaking amongst other things and there is lots of wildlife to enjoy. The river Ebro is famous for fishing.

    The major cities of Reus, Tarragona, Tortosa and Barcelona are close enough to visit. There are beaches half an hour's drive away but these can be difficult to access without independent transport.

    Our farm has panoramic mountain views and is in a quiet undisturbed spot, making it the perfect place to focus on painting, writing and yoga or any other pursuit that requires a certain amount of peace and beauty!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We like all kinds of helpers and we need all kinds of different help! From moving sheep fencing to dog walking, shovelling manure to dry stone wall repair and everything in between.

    This year, we're particularly interested in hosting people for longer lengths of time and for them to have more involvement in every aspect of the life here - we're hoping to cultivate a 'community' atmosphere and need dedicated people to make it work. We feel we'd be an ideal place for couples or groups of friends with an interest in setting up their own projects/homesteads to really get a good grounding in the realities, challenges and joys of taking on land, animals and a simpler-not-necessarily-easier way of life. It would be amazing to get some help with building better infrastructure in order to harvest more rain water and further improve our volunteer experience :)

    We have vegetable gardens, young fruit trees, olive trees, almond trees, 4 sheep, 6 chickens, 1 dog, 4 goats and two sons. All of this demands our time and attention and we appreciate help with all of it, although tasks do change throughout the seasons.

    We're essentially a regenerative homestead and there are many unglamorous daily tasks that we look for assistance with as well as occasional building projects and our main harvests in Mid-August/Sept and the end of October to the middle of November.

    The work is generally pretty physical, so we appreciate volunteers who are not scared to get stuck in and can accept that our set-up is not one that offers much luxury! Particular skills/knowledge that we could use at the moment

    - Gardening knowledge and experience. Weeding, planting, pruning, putting in irrigation, a vigilance for spotting problems with the plants

    - Tree maintenence. Pruning using hand saws, secateurs, or loppers. Sometimes chainsaw and pole chainsaw. Confidence on ladders

    - Dry stone walling skills or experience of having built/rebuilt dry stone wall under the instruction of someone else
    - Timber frame construction (doesn't have to be anything fancy but some experience with knowing how to put up simple structures)

    - Farm animal care. Helping with goat milking, feeding, watering, giving love but mainly understanding the importance of rotational/mob grazing of ruminants, and fully embracing the essential work of moving animal fences regularly (see Polyface farm and Joel Salatin)

    - General land management; mowing, strimming etc

    From mid-August we need any willing and able people for almond harvesting - No special skills or experience are required for this, but a sense of enthusiasm and fun is helpful as it is hot and sweaty work!

    We're happy to hear from any potential volunteers whatever the level of skill and experience but an interest in and enthusiam for the kind of work we're doing here is essential. A good positive attitude and an ability to get on with tasks without supervision together with a sense of humour, a love of outdoor life and a genuine willingness to help restore our land and all the injured places of the world.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Catalan: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have a small and very basic caravan that its dry and has a woodburner. We're hoping that practical and creative volunteers can improve and make beautiful this little space. Other accommodation during the spring, summer and autumn months is under canvas. We have various tents of varying sizes so can usually accomodate most travelling permutations. It's worth pointing out that staying here is largely an outdoor experience. Toilets are outdoor compost loos and washing facilities are rudimentary and under the sky. The volunteer kitchen (that we also occasionally use) is also outdoors! It's a primitive way to live but there is a whole lot of satisfaction to be found in that - and no better way to fully connect with nature.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is so much to do within a couple of hour's drive! From the Ebro Delta, to the bustle of Barcelona, this region is full of potential. Our nearest village has a couple of basic shops and several bars and is a couple of kilometres away. Our nearest towns, Mora d'ebre and Mora la nova are approximately 20 mins away as is our nearest railway station. There are two buses a day through the village to the town. You can reach a number of beaches within 30 mins by car.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space for caravans and campervans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 568678116559