Volunteer on small orchard in Hawaii paradise

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 161 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Riaan, I moved to the Big Island from South Africa about 14 years ago. I live in a 6 bedroom house with my family on 3 acres of land. I have more than 180 fruit trees and plants on my property. My wife`s name is Lisa and both my mom and daughter live with us. I live close to Hilo in a rain forest on one of the most beautiful and untouched areas in Hawaii.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Helpers can learn a great deal, taking care of a small scale orchard with a variety of fruit trees and plants. In addition helpers will have the opportunity to eat and indulge in harvested fruit if in abundance.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I need help with a variety of tasks: cleaning and laundry, maintenance in and around the house, landscaping, pulling weeds, weed whacking, lawn mowing, attending to a small nursery/vegetable garden, painting and yard cleaning.

    Short and long term home stay options: (two weeks to 2 months) This is opportunity for free accommodation in exchange for work, helpers provide their own meals.

    I enjoy cultural exchanges and skill sharing, I am always learning.

    No smoking, no excessive drinking and no drugs allowed on property. I also prefer no pets.

    20 hours per week for single person and 16 hours each per week for couples.

    Helpers are responsible for buying and making their own meals. In the event of two helpers being accommodated, they will have to share the same room/bed, so couples more appropriate/ideal.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English and Afrikaans

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is a private room and shared bath room and kitchen for helpers. The room has a full size bed, TV and high speed WiFi is available. Laundry is available once a week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have books and maps available to be used for planning your excursions. Here are a few things to look forward to, that you can do and see during your stay. The Big Island is a very special place with the Volcano National Park being one of its main attractions.

    Here are some free things you can do. Snorkel and look at the colorful tropical fish, visit our small and low key Panaewa Zoo, visit beautiful Liliuokalani Garden in Hilo, walk along Banyan drive, and walk over the bridge to Coconut Island in Hilo. Akatsuka Orchid Garden in Volcano, stop at South Point (Ka Lae), the most southern point of US territory, Green Sands beach, Rainbow falls, the Boiling pots, snorkel/swim with dolphins at Ho'okena or 2 steps, St Benedict`s Painted Church, walk the Hilo down town stores and Saturday morning fruit and farmers market, Sunday Maku'u Farmers Market, visit the Captain Cook Monument at Kealakekua bay, walk down the spectacular Waipio or Polulu valleys, travel up Mauna Kea to look at the Observatory and stars through the telescopes set up at the Onizuka Visitor Center for International Astronomy, swim with the ocean turtles (but don't touch them...they are protected!) or see them sleep and bask at many of the more secluded beaches on the island, like Kiholo Bay and Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, tan and swim at the white sand beaches, like Magic Sands, Hapuna, Mauna Kea or Makalavena, visit many of the historic Hawaiian centers on the island and bathe in the waterfall at the Kolekole Beach Park. in Hilo, Carlsmith beach (aka 4 miles) has a sandy bottom and Richardson's has a pebbly black sand beach you could lay on. There is an extensive amount of hiking trails on island.

    These are only but a few things you could do, too many to mention. Things that cost some money would be, to visit the Tsunami museum, Akaka Falls, Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden and a flight on the Blue Hawaiian helicopters. Swim and snorkel with the manta-rays at night, Zip line across the Akaka falls or rain forest settings, ATV and horse riding excursions, variety of boat and catamaran activities being offered. Kayaking and stand up paddle boarding could also be a fun activity to do.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20 hours per week for single person and 16 hours each per week for a couple

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














N° de référence hôte : 559648227989