Help with our permaculture garden and DIY in Edinburgh, Scotland,



Enregistré comme favori 255 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

  • Description


    We live in Edinburgh - a lovely city of green places, with lots of community activity, local markets, festivals, organisations and events - science, history, arts, green/alternative, walks, etc.. We're minutes away from a bus stop which gives easy access to most of Edinburgh and the surrounding area, which includes sandy beaches, harbours and lovely countryside. We're within walking distances of shops, the beach, a park and river and quiet cycle paths where you can forage for wild food or access other parts of the city. We have a lovely organic wildlife garden which I'd love to improve, a pond which I'd like to enlarge and a house which would benefit from some TLC.

    Apologies if you don't get a reply. We are generally looking for people with prior experience in house maintenance and gardening.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live within walking distance to Edinburgh's most popular prom and beach, where you can find plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars, and people swim all year round, despite the cold in winter. There are good walks and parks near our house, and plenty of buses into the city centre.

    The city centre is crammed with historic buildings: castles; town houses; cottages, etc. The castle and the old town are famous, and provided inspiration to JK Rowling when she was writing the Harry Potter books in Edinburgh's iconic cafes.

    There's an extinct volcano near our home, providing walking and rock-climbing opportunities, and the possibility of going on a guided Geowalk, to learn more about the geology of the area. We have parks, gardens, lochs and sandy beaches with promenades and lovely views of the Firth of Forth. Boat trips to see puffins, seals, grey seals, sea birds, dolphins and occasionally whales, leave regularly from Queensferry and further down the coast at North Berwick.

    Water Sports, such as scuba diving, sailing, kayaking, wind-surfing and more are taught locally, with white water rafting and surfing being within travelling distance.

    The art galleries are wonderful and there are hidden gems of art, such as the Phoebe Anne Traquair murals, which are gems of the Arts and Crafts and Celtic Revival movements, scattered over the city.

    Our musical heritage is rich, vibrant and varied and there are musical gigs every night of the week throughout the city, plus different ceilidhs where great fun is had dancing to our traditional music. We have a number of theatres and concert halls, and St. Mary's Cathedral is renowned for its excellent choral tradition. We also have a wonderful jazz bar which has performances pretty well back to back throughout the year.

    Many intellectual societies and grass roots community organisations exist here, opening doors to meaningful social opportunities and enriching spiritual, intellectual or creative possibilities.

    We have a very rich and varied cultural history. The resourceful character of the Scots people means that we have always excelled at engineering, invention and design.

    We attract hundreds of thousands of tourists every year, throughout the year, who come to enjoy the festivals, the celebrations, the scenery and the sheer exuberance of this vibrant city, which is scattered liberally with lovely parks and places of natural beauty, and surrounded on all sides by countryside or farmland.

    I cannot really cover everything which Edinburgh and Scotland has to offer, but it's up to the WorkAway people to take advantage of Edinburgh, and spend time with us and our friends to experience the hidden heart of Scotland.

  • Aide


    We'd mainly like the help in the afternoons, although we can be flexible. We're both immune compromised, so we'll only be able to accept people who are fully vaccinated and taking some sensible precautions.

    We'd like people have the capability to do handyman type jobs: small areas of plastering; wallpapering; painting; simple woodwork tasks, general maintenance, etc. We can provide the tools, but we need you to have some prior experience of doing a variety of small jobs.

    We have an permaculture, wildlife garden which is much admired, and in better weather it needs TLC. For this, people must be physically strong, or have prior experience in pruning, moving shrubs, planting, etc. We'd prefer like-minded people who understand the concept of supporting wildlife, recycling and being respectful of resources.

    Your private time is your own. You can go out and about, exploring the lovely coastline nearby, relax in your room. You're welcome to spend evenings relaxing with us. We eat simple meals, and if you're prepared to help us out with meal preparation, then you're welcome to eat with us, on condition that it doesn't come out of time you're volunteering. We'd like people to respect our time, and play fair.

    Please forgive any delays in replying to emails. We get more than we have time to answer.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    There is an en suite bedroom with private sitting area or a single bedroom with shared bathroom. The house is quiet,cosy and well-insulated, and the garden is nice on sunny days. We'd prefer non-smokers and animal lovers.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Edinburgh is an amazing place with many things to do every day, theatres, galleries, bistros, restaurants and lots of free live music in pubs every night. There are buses and trains only minutes away, and shops, restaurants and pubs within walking distance, but equally we have green areas nearby, including a sandy beach, parks, gardens, hills and wild areas. Unfortunately Covid has clipped Edinburgh's wings a bit over the past couple of years, but things are beginning to openup again.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, IN THE AFTERNOON/EVENING; 5 days a week.

N° de référence hôte : 546499344155