Cattle farm with off-grid cabin in the Alps near Admont, Austria

Country

Autriche

Enregistré comme favori 190 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE for September 2022: I am now looking for someone who is into PHOTOGRAPHY and VIDEOGRAPHY as well, to capture the mountain Alm experience. Equipment is provided :)
    This is an "Alm" in the Austrian Alps, high up in the mountains, just below treeline. Farmers keep their cattle in these high meadows for the summer for grazing. I am the "Almhalter" (shepherd) that stays with the cattle all summer. I live in a very rustic but super comfy cabin, where I'm looking for some help with the daily chores resulting from living off the grid. There is no Internet whatsoever and no cell phone reception except a sat phone for emergencies. A solar panel provides just enough electricity for lightbulbs throughout the cabin, and to charge walkie-talkies used for communicating while I search for cattle. Water for cooking, drinking, cleaning, personal hygiene etc. is carried from the spring. About 140 head of cattle are in my care each summer. I count them every day and check their health and soundness, all of which can entail hours of hiking in difficult terrain. They also have to be fed salt & minerals on a regular basis. Usually, several calves are born each summer. If cattle goes missing, lots of hours of hiking are added to the daily chores, until the animals are found and cared for. Checking and repairing fences is also part of my job. About once a week to once every 10 days, we drive down to the village for groceries and supplies. A hiking trail that's popular among locals as well as some National Park visitors leads by the cabin, where you never meet a stranger! My Austrian family loves everything Alm and is very involved with the whole experience.
    I am originally from Austria, but live in Texas and Hawaii in the winter (been in the USA for 20 years), where I am a Medical Biochemist/Cell Biologist with an MA in English by trade, and work with horses professionally. (I know, unusual combination - and I love it.) Summers I spend in the Alps of Austria grazing cattle. I have epilepsy.
    COVID update: I am fully vaccinated - so whether you are vaccinated or not, either way works for me.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Cultural exchange is what I'm all about! I've lived internationally my whole life, and for 20 years, my main winter residence has been in Texas, Arizona, or Utah. My English is fluent, I barely notice which language I'm speaking at the moment, haha. I'm happy to help you learn German, or speak English with you if that's your preference. On the Alm you can dive deep into Austrian culture and traditions - food, music, get-togethers, farm animals (and yes, cow bells, lol), hiking, mountain folklore...to name just a few. The mountain folk are very welcoming, and you can become part of our little world.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Most importantly, I'm looking for help with the off-grid household, which includes cooking on a wood-burning stove, keeping the fire going, carrying water from the spring, etc. You can help with animal care as much or as little as you choose - I'm happy to show you what caring for cattle in the mountains is all about. If you enjoy handywork such as fixing fences and various DIY projects around the cabin, there's always something to be found. You may or may not witness an epileptic seizure while you spend time with me, and I'll ask you to lend a helping hand with that (no experience required).
    About once a week, once every 10 days, I'd ask you to drive down to the village for grocery shopping (a good opportunity to see more of the area).
    All workaway scheduling and arrangements for the summer have to be made before May 31, since I won't have Internet then. Thanks! :)

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The attic is newly finished, dorm-style in the traditional Austrian manner, and ready for you to use. Keep in mind that this is an off-grid, primitive cabin in the Alps, with all that this entails. There's no stove in the attic.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are are directly surrounded by a stunningly beautiful National Park with diverse flora and fauna. Activites include hiking, climbing, and whitewater rafting. Furthermore, there is an ancient monastery nearby with one of the oldest libraries in the world. The hiking and climbing is straight out the front door.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 534771639126