Help appreciated with gardening near Hobart, Tasmania

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 87 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.04.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    1051

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Jenny, I am easy going, friendly and compassionate. I live with 4 cats (2 were my daughter's) in an old wooden cottage with a lovely big garden on a double-block. Since I work for the Health Department and care for my elderly mother I am fully vaccinated against COVID19 and I can only accept helpers that are also fully vaccinated against COVID19.

    I really enjoy my full-time work as a Community Health Social Worker but it means that I am often too tired/busy to look after my garden well which is why I enjoy having people help me with it. My garden feels like a sanctuary to me as it is very peaceful, especially in the hammock under the mulberry tree. It's great to be able to care for this small piece of the earth and to grow and harvest organic vegetables and fruit from it.

    I love the peace and the natural environment here in Tasmania also the local arts/music scene is wonderful too. I wish to acknowledge my respect and support of the Mouheneenner People, the traditional owners and custodians of the land upon which my home was built.

    I am very happy to share my interests with you which include protecting the environment and human rights, photography, art, music and dancing. I am LGBTIQA+ friendly too as I don't discriminate against anyone except people who discriminate :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers will learn about my organic gardening style and I can also share my knowledge and experiences of Tasmanian/Australian culture with travellers and this will be from an alternative perspective which focuses on protecting the environment and human rights including workers rights. This includes my commitment to supporting the Australian Aboriginal community in their struggles for justice. This means that I will suggest events or places that we can go to together after I get home from work but mainly on the weekends. These include bush walks, art galleries, exhibition openings, museums, rallies/protests and live music venues. I always show my guests the local Kingston Beach as it is very beautiful there and has a lovely walk along the cliffs so that they can go themselves if they want to in their free time. I also encourage my guests to let me know what they are most interested in seeing or learning about while they are in the Hobart area so that I can look at how to best support them to make the most of their time here.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I need enthusiastic and flexible helpers. If you have a trade then you could help with some carpentry, roof fixing or painting. If you don't have a trade then I would like you to mainly do weeding, or trimming tree branches. I have a wood heater so chainsawing/chopping is always needed too. I have some fences that could be painted with a mural. I also need help to clean out my sheds and take rubbish to the tip. I would love help to make some 'bush furniture' too. On rainy days help with housework would be great including cleaning out cupboards.

    I need about 4 hours of help/day each in exchange for: room; unlimited WiFi ; food; help with your English or Spanish. If you have a trade qualification 3 hours of help will be enough. I'm an OK cook but if you want me to cook for you then I'd like another hour of help from you in exchange.

    I work full-time Monday – Friday so you need to be able to work alone (unless you're part of a couple) or you could help me when I'm home after 6ish. You can help extra hours if you want so that you can have a longer time off too.

    I prefer helpers who don't wait to be asked to do things like clean up after themselves etc.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I speak fluent Spanish as my second language but don't practice it very often so happy to swap Spanish conversation for English practice if you want

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    If you’d like to stay in your own room with a queen sized bed, dresser and wardrobe (sharing kitchen, toilet and bathroom) in my little cottage in Kingston (a 15 min. drive or 25 min. bus ride south of Hobart) with a big garden then please contact me. No smoking inside please. No shoes on in living room due to carpets. There's also off street parking available for a car or camper van. No arachnophobics please as I prefer spiders to chemical fly sprays :)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Bus to Hobart is only a 10 minute walk away in Central Kingston, the supermarket is a 5 minute walk away. The beautiful Kingston Beach is a 20 minute walk away, which is the start of the wonderful Alum Cliffs walk. Also close by are sports grounds, shops and places to eat also. Kingston is also at the start of the picturesque Huon Valley and D'entrecasteaux Channel where you can catch the ferry to Bruny Island.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have unlimited NBN access at an average speed

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is room here to park a campervan

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











N° de référence hôte : 533287514262