Help us with our little thatched house and share our family life near Tapolca, Hungary



Enregistré comme favori 30 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    Szia! (Hello in Hungarian)

    We are a small family of three and our little daughter will turn two years in September. She is a mixture of Eastern and Western European blood as I am German and my boyfriend Attila is Hungarian. We both like to travel and enjoy the exchange with people from other countries and cultures - such as our daily life somehow still includes a lot of cultural exchange! We have moved to Hungary in summer 2020 to start our family life here at the beautiful and magical surrounding of lake Balaton.

    Trying to make this world a better place, we are working on our "life´s footprints". We try to consume local products and support the small farmers around. We try to eat healthy and we are creative with using own our garden fruits. This growing season we try to grow a few vegetables on our property. However, we are busy with the construction work of our holiday house and time is a precious good ;) We don´t have a car and use our bikes or the great Hungarian public transportation system. All these ideas are slowly growing and put into practise and we are open for and interested in your ideas/recipes/experiences...

    We would like to create a place for us and for visitors/ tourists that want to enjoy the amazing landscape and outdoor activities of this area. When looking out of our windows we can see at least four volcanoes! We feel very connected to nature and it gives us a chance to recharge our spirits. We love to go out to the woods or up to the hillside here. Attila writes hiking tours on a professional base and his heart is full with curiosity and passion for forests and mountains which he is happy to share!

    We are creating a little holiday house to be the accomodation of visitors which is about 1km from the shore of lake Balaton. That´s where we will need most help. It´s an old stone house with a thatched roof (reet) on the slopes of lake Balaton in the middle of the vinyards. We had a vinyard ourselves, which we took mostly out this spring, cause all our neighbors sell tasty wine! In autumn, we are harvesting the grapes that stayed for our own use (fruits, juice...). It´s a 2000m² property with a stunning view on the lake and the volcanoes around! The house needs renovation and we need handy helpers here who are happy to do construction work with Attila. Additionally, there is gardening/planting, earth work, maintainance around the house...

    Our family house is about 15km from the holiday house in a small town. Here, we are still renovating and re-organising since we have just moved here.

    Besides these plenty tasks, we try to have a little outside activity (hiking, cycling, swimming…) at least every weekend. We like to hike and discover the natural beauty around us and are happy to show you around if you like!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a Hungarian-German couple and we are happy to let you be part of our little cultural adventure. Our daughter grows up with German (mother) and Hungarian (father). However, we speak English with each other. We live in an authentic Hungarian little town and you can come with us to the market where we buy most of our veggies and fruits. The holiday house is in a small village where you can meet authentic Hungarian village life e.g. the harvest of the wine. We love to have bonfire in our garden with friends and often we prepare the typical Hungarian stew over the fire. Under the clear night sky, far away from noice this is a touching experience! It´s also the best place for deep and wide conversations and guitar singing!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We would welcome a handy person who likes to help with construction tasks. We put down walls for new doors, put new floor, painting, kitchen, terrace, ... whatever you feel comfortable with!
    We need to build a shed as a storage for tools and wood etc. soon.
    There is also a lot of earth work needed on the property.
    We took down most of the vinyard and would like to give a bit more spirit to the property which is long and narrow. We have already planted quite a few fruit trees and we are planting an "alley of grapes" for a shady passage in the hot summer sun.
    You are most free to choose from all the tasks what you prefer!
    We regularly organize weekends with our friends when everybody helps according to their abilities. The days end with kettle stew over the open fire :)

    Furthermore, there are a few gardening jobs planting, pruning... Or processing the harvest to juice, jam, ... Or helping with maintaing the family house such as painting. We are also still giving a personal touch to our new home - so you can be creative if you like.

    Since our daughter is still very young, she takes a lot of attention and gives us a daily life schedule. If you are open to join the sometimes demanding daily life of a young family, we are happy to welcome you in our family life.
    Furthermore, we are very happy to host you as a family if you want to bring your kids and we can share taking care of them and all the other tasks.

    We ask for an average of 4-5 hours help on 5 days per week.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Hungarian: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    We own a family house with a little garden next to it in a small town (about 12km from lake Balaton). You can have your own room here with a cosy big bed.
    The other house which will be a holiday house is a village in the vinyards and it´s a 1km distance to the lake shore. There are vinyards all around. It´s a functioning little house with one (sleeping) room and you can also stay there, if you prefer solitude and to be close to nature. However, if we are also staying overnight, we share the room. It´s also possible to camp somewhere on the property.
    We are usually staying in our family house overnight, which is about 15km from the holiday house. So most of the meals and the family life takes place here.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are a lot of wonderful activities around this area and since we have also just moved here, we are happy to explore it. There is a stunning volcanic landscape all around us with offers great hiking! You can go cave exploring, swimming, sailing, fishing, cycling, rock climbing, paragliding, ... Sightseeing such as old castles and ruins are close to us as well as authentic Hungarian villages. There´s great food in Hungary (if you are not a vegetarian).
    On our weekends, we like to discover the surrounding and you are welcome to join us if you like.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Depending on the size of your campervan, you can fit on our property. We are constructing an access

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    A dog is welcome if it's suitable with our daughter.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 527968987325