Projet de jardin bio dans l'est de Galway, Irlande

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 425 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    >>What we do

    This project revolves around an old period farmhouse surrounded by gardens, fields and planted forests.
    Our goals are:
    • To maintain and improve the house, buildings and gardens around the property
    • To grow organic fruits and vegetables in order to become self sufficient
    • To clear and maintain the forest plantations
    • To create a nice and welcoming community of long/short term volunteers

    Achieving our goals will obviously involve a lot of outdoors physical work. It is then necessary to be open to work in cold and wet weather. However most of the time it is a pleasure to be outside surrounded by this beautiful nature. In case of really bad conditions, we always have some work to do inside (cleaning, organizing, painting, fixing etc.).
    We work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week with weekends off.

    >>Who we are

    Malcolm (59) , the owner of the property, is responsible for everything around here and lives 20min away near Galway. He is very gentle and an easy-going person to work with. Always ready to share his knowledge about Irish culture, gardening, forestry and much more.

    We, Elodie (33) and Loïc (31) are two long term volunteers from Belgium acting as hosts and responsible for managing the day to day life. We like to spend our days here working outside and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. We love to live in community and share as much time as possible with other people. On our free time, we love to play board games, table tennis, play music, watch movies and go to the Friday night karaoke at the local pub.

    Pepper (12), Mina (15), Sasta(2), Freya (1/2) are our house pets. Pepper is Loïc’s retired Alaskan husky sled dog and the other three are our rat extermination team (cats). They are all allowed inside the house although the cats spend most of their time outside.

    >>Accomodation

    You will be living in a late 19th century farmhouse with six private bedrooms and two shared bathrooms. There is a communal kitchen (gas stove and oven) loaded with food where you can cook and bake as much as you want.
    There is a beautiful conservatory to relax and enjoy serenity while the sun shines.
    There is also a nice cosy sitting room with a stove where you can chill, read, play music or watch movies.
    The house is loaded with books about almost everything you can imagine so if you like reading, you will be in heaven.
    Our place is quite isolated, the nearest town is 10 min away by car. It is possible to get a bus to Galway or other nearby cities. We also have a few bikes available.

    >>In short

    We are looking forward to meeting new energetic and outdoorsy people who want to spend time in a quite and relaxing place while working on interesting sustainable projects.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are very open and happy to share/exchange about our culture, our experience, our interests, and our knowledge with our visitors.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You don’t need any particular type of skill to work with us. What we expect is a positive and willing mindset in order to get the work done. We are keen to share our knowledge as well as learn from yours. Having experience in gardening, forestry or building is of course most welcome.

    We will be working Monday to Friday from approximately 8h30 to 14h30 with a one-hour lunch break. Although this can vary depending on circumstances and weather.

    Your reward is to contribute to very interesting sustainable eco projects amongst some beautiful surroundings while in the company of great like-minded people.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own room in a private house. Shared bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    County Galway is a culturally rich county with beautiful views and the most wonderful landscape. It is an amazing place with unique opportunities. If you are skilled, adventurous, outdoorsy, and enthusiastic you will be really happy you applied for this opportunity.
    As the weather in Ireland during January and February is changeable and often times wet it is necessary to enjoy being out in the elements and to own some wet gear. We can lend wellington boots and overalls if needed.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)


























N° de référence hôte : 524772947854