Aidez-nous à secourir les chats errants à Sant Pere de Ribes, près de Sitges, en Catalogne, Espagne



Enregistré comme favori 704 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

  • Description


    We are an expat couple who have been helping street cats in Spain for a number of years. Having feed and treated the cats some end up staying close to our home so we manage them as an in-home colony. We also have 3 rescue dogs.

    We need an experienced volunteer to help with our cats, while also helping to keep the house and garden clean so we can all live in a healthy environment.

    Our pets are our family so our cats and our dogs are in the house daily. There will be cat and dog hair so you need to ensure you do not have any allergies to pets or pet hair.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We originally lived in the South of Spain where we began rescuing street cats and fostering dogs but we are most experienced with cats. We love to pass on our knowledge, all that we have learned over the many years we have been helping street cats. We have stories of how they came to be with us, how they got their names, information on common illnesses and general tips on how they differ from domestic cats. It is always a pleasure for us to meet a workawayer who are interested to know and learn more and we will do our best to teach them something new.

    We love to hear about different countries and ways of life, we enjoy the diversity and for us, as we do not get to travel very often due to our animals, it is like visiting a new country when we hear all about the home country and town of the workawayer, the places they have traveled to and the experiences they have had.

  • Aide


    We welcome solo workawayers who have previous experience with handling and caring for rescued street cats. Volunteers must have previous experience working and dealing with rescue pets and enjoy sharing a home with animals.

    You need to be someone who just adores cats and other animals. If the idea of having cats crawling all over you all day long sounds like a dream come true, then this is the host home for you. Its 24/7 cats.

    Having cats and caring for cats are 2 different things, most of the cats have trouble being social and many have long term medical conditions. They are very different to domestic cats and need to be handled differently.

    We are looking for a workawayer who is interesting in getting involved in the day to day care, recuperation and protection of these cats. You should be a person who is actively looking to further your existing experience with animal care to stay here. You daily tasks will involve feeding the cats, cleaning litter trays, general cleaning, assist with vet visits, dog walking and helping with treatment and medication, if needed. Some of the older rescues can be prone to incontinence, you will need to help clean up and deal with these cats.

    All our pets are rescues from the streets and some are under long term medical care. Volunteers need to be confident handling and dealing with animals, they need to be able to cope with illness in animals (minor and major) and help us with medication, treatment and care of sick animals, if needed (keep in mind these are not all tame cats). They should also be prepared to deal with the worst as not all illnesses in street cats are curable. You will be required to do 5 hours work per day, 5 days a week.

    Speaking both English and Spanish would be beneficial.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Our home is in a very quiet urbanization situated on the outskirts of a small town just on the border between Barcelona and Tarragona. The town itself is approx 55 minutes train ride from Barcelona City. The train station is in the town which is about 5 kilometers walk away. There is a weekday bus service, the nearest bus stop to our house is about 2 kms away.

    You will have your own room which you may need to share with a rescue cat. You will have access to wifi.

    Volunteers prepare their own meals using local vegetarian ingredients provided. If we are home in the evenings volunteers can choose to share our evening meal with us (vegetarian) or they can cook for them selves using the local vegetarian ingredients we provided.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are close to a national park with many hiking and cycling tracks to discover. There is a large lake just over 9 kms from the house. The Dorada Coast is just 5 kilometers from the house with a choice of blue flag beaches to visit.

    There is train service from the local town (5 kms away) direct to Barcelona city and there is a bus and train link from Barcelona Airport and a train link from Reus Airport. There are 2 local bus services to local train stations and villages. There is an hourly service which operated (weekday only, with the nearest bus stop 2 kms from the house. There are taxis in the local village from the train station.

    Due to the amount of care that is involved in what we do, we don't have a lot of spare time to spend on additional admin and correspondence. As we don't know the workawayer until they come to stay we place a huge importance on the initial application email we receive. We will only review a profile if the first contact provides us with a reason to want to know a workawayer more. If you are genuinely interested in helping street cats then let us know why and what you feel are your best qualities for coming to stay with us and what you can give our furry family.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We both work from home and in the past we have hosted several digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.5)

N° de référence hôte : 522885994658