Un accueil chaleureux vous attend si vous pouvez aider ma mère à la campagne, Province de Grenade, Espagne

  • Espagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 260 fois
  • Activité récente: 27 sept. 2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am Frank and I need some help! At the moment I am with my family in rural, peaceful Andalusia (see the 'What Else' section) working to reform our cave house and little farm, I am mainly responsible for the care of my mum who is 95 and comes from Southern Italy. She speaks English and Neapolitan Italian. An Italian speaker would be the most wonderful bonus, but not a requirement! She loves knitting and company.

    She has medium dementia, which of course is progressive and can sometimes be varied and complex, so I think we are looking for someone with relevant experience such as having cared for a family member with similar issues, or someone who has worked in the elderly care sector. Of course, we are only expecting you to provide companionship and support, not personal care.

    I live with my partner, my step son, (and obviously my mum!) And in another house in the same property there lives my step daughter and her partner and baby. Everyone does a huge amount to help my mum, but there are so many jobs screaming to be done,, so that all of us need a break sometimes. Now you would think that was enough people to look after an old lady, but because she needs someone to be with her most of the time, I am looking for a friendly person to give her some extra love!

    We live in the area known as the Badlands east of the Sierra Nevada and 90 minutes drive from historic Granada city.

    We have 5 dogs (+ 1 temporary "foster" dog) who particularly enjoy our outdoor space - our whole plot is 2 hectares (5 acres) on which we grow vegetables, olives, a little fruit and keep a few chickens (for eggs not meat).

    There is minimal public transport local to the house so we will always give a lift if we can. We usually visit the local towns 2 or 3 times a week. If you have a driving licence that is valid in the EU there might be a car you can use very occasionally. We also have a few bicycles, so you are welcome to use one.

    No heavy smokers, habitual drug users or habitual drinkers please. Otherwise, you will find that we are open-minded and tolerant of people's life choices.

    We all eat a vegetarian / vegan diet.

    I'm sure you will understand that I am responsible to my family and my conscience for my mother's health and well-being. Therefore, as she is 95 and vulnerable. I'm sorry, but I must insist that you can prove that you are fully vaccinated against Covid.

    A little bit about me: I "retired" at the end of 2019, just in time for the pandemic! I love many types of music, not just from my generation but to include classical, rock, blues, punk, electronic, newer stuff like Billie Eilish and Wet Leg, in fact almost anything that is well done, and I have been to many concerts, gigs etc over the years. Sorry, I'm not into rap though! I like some order in my life, but am learning to "roll with it" more. I enjoy reading. I am quite techy, probably unusual for someone of my age. Although I'm not a musician, I've used technology, synths etc to experiment with composing and making music a little. I'm hoping to have the opportunity to eventually set up a creative space here, but currently it's not top of the list. It's probably fair to say I am more cerebral than physical. I have a corny sense of humour I've been told. I have been a restaurant owner, IT manager, DJ, marketing manager, disability needs assessor and a few other things. I can cook. I became vegetarian in 2020. I have two sons in different parts of the world, and of course, my loving family here, including my lovely step-granddaughter, Susi, who I love to bits! I didn't really expect to retire and become my mother's carer (with help from the rest of the family, and some lovely workawayers!), which is why any support I can get is very appreciated. I hope none of this puts you off!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn English of course, from any of the members of the household, maybe a little (Neapolitan) Italian from Josie (my Mum). and Spanish from my son-in-law, friends and the neighbours.

    The local village of Bacor has some interesting features and history, there are routes for walking or cycling, there are occasional fiestas nearby (including one on our land in late August), and cave houses are traditional and an education in themselves!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Talking to Nanny in English, and Italian if possible too, (but not a deal breaker).
    Making snacks for her, taking her for short walks, keeping her company, becoming aware of her needs etc.

    Sometimes taking a turn cooking meals if you are able, and helping with basic garden maintenance. Neither of these are deal breakers either!

    When we make contact, I will be happy to provide more details, typical day etc to help you decide whether we are right for you.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    As a group we have different levels of Spanish, from fluent to beginner so some practice for the beginners would be great, but not essential!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are 2 cave houses, one is lived in by my stepdaughter, son-in-law and their baby daughter, and the other by us. It's older and needs things done to it and has some parts a little untidy and under construction or unreformed. There is a huge garden around the house which has no real form yet and a little woodland and a veggie garden with olive trees and vines. All of us help together or by turn with this.

    At the moment, we are developing the large cave room that workawayers have usually slept in. However, we also have a large building that was originally an olive mill, at least since 1886, and we currently have this laid out hostel-style. Our most recent workawayers have been working on a shower room with toilets adjacent to this, which even includes some lovely artwork. There is an indoor relaxation area with sofas etc, and also a large outdoor covered patio at the back with sofas and chairs.

    Depending on consensus, we occasionally have movie night, end-of-week parties etc.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The wider area, also known as the Altiplano de Granada has plenty of history, a stronghold of the Moorish Kingdom of El Andaluz, and the last part to fall to the Christian conquerors. There are widespread and very visible signs of the Mesolithic culture that flourished here, and remains from settlements of some of the earliest known hominids in Europe nearby at Orce too! Have a look on Wikipedia!

    There's the wonderful lake, Pantano de Negratín, hot springs, even a hot waterfall not too far away! Cool mountains, hot desert, and tapas free with every beer or wine in most of the little bars in the local villages and towns. Bacor has two bars open at varying times, one of which is quite Spanish, while the other one is English and usually has weekly British food nights and Sunday lunches.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day, 2 days off per week (usually weekends), must be flexible to fit in with other household needs.

N° de référence hôte : 496725928994

Feedback (2)


Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Besoin de quelqu'un pour jouer et s'amuser avec nos 3 enfants en Catalogne, Espagne
Share family life and help with our art and ceramics project in Asturias, Spain