Have fun and enjoy the acadian wild woods of Nova Scotia - help with building paths and a vegetable garden, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 58 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

  • Description


    hi there,
    my name is jo and i`m originally from germany. my family has been connected to nova scotia since 1997 and so i came across this wonderful piece of woodland at this equally wonderful lake here and decided to buy it to finally start fulfiling my dreams :)
    i'm a 39 year old free woman, non-smoker, eating mainly vegan though i like fish as well as chocolate, and my dreams are to live in, with and by nature as much as possible (besides other things!). currently i'm switching between germany and nova scotia working my way to be more in n.s. therefor this project can only be visited at certain times of the year. please read on carefully before you send a request. thank you.

    this summer a couple of patches have been leveled by the excavator. now rocks of all sizes and root left overs need to be taken out (the machine could only take the really big ones), then the ground has to be smoothed and connected to the undisturbed surroundings. after that a native creeping ground cover has to be brought out and then... someday... a firewood shed and a compost toilet and a greenhouse and... will be built.
    generally there remains a lot of debris to be removed from the clear cuttings the previous owners left.
    and at the lake there are tons of rocks of any size. if those are removed in certain places a beach gets revealed and a kayak landing could be raised. ... ... ...

    due to this land being developed totally from scratch and with very low impact so far there's nothing but a sea can (means shipping container) and two tents. no electricity(!!!), no running water and normally i don't even have a car but do everything by bicycle.
    therefor water has to be fetched from the lake and carried up the hill, there's not much battery charging (if any at all!) and i can't give you any lifts or pick you up or so!

    so this is kind of the state the place is at.
    anyway it's a wonderful place and project you're invited to here and i hope all these downswings of luxury havn't put you off!? (for details please look at "accomodation")
    looking forward to meeting you in my forest! :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    i invite you to share my little wilderness with me. you can enjoy living with nature, in the forest, with the wildlife, and be part of the process of developing this land to sustainable economic basics in respect for mother nature. permacultural principles are the foundation you may discover here. and lots of chances for creativity, contemplation, silence, staring at stars, sitting at the camp fire ... after a hard days work ;) - no worries, i don't like to exaggerate.

    spiritual sciences in physics, philosophy, personal development, contemplation ... are only some of the things i like to share and exchange about. please feel free to share your thoughts and give us some input :)

  • Aide


    basically i need support to keep the day going with all my plans, organization, meals, ... all the work that comes together. whatever you want to offer in the set of daily priorities is welcome! i like to make sure you enjoy your stay and the work with me, so let's see how we best match together :)

    some examples of what we can do:
    *️️️clean up the mess off of the clear cut
    *️️️build brush walls and piles with this debris (to avoid wild fires, nourish the soil, easier trespassing...)
    *️️️build an outhouse, a firewood shed, a food dehydrator,...
    *️️️maintain the boundary lines and set up new signs
    *️️️encourage the herbs and berries to grow (depending on season: harvest and process them or take out the weeds and young trees that would suppress them)
    *️️️collect and chop fire wood
    *️️️building paths and trails through the woods for walking as well as cycling
    *️️️set up a veggie and herb garden
    *️️️build hang out places
    *️️️construct a visitor announcement system
    *️️️build a kayak cable car or shed
    *️️️simplify access to the lake by moving the rocks under and above water
    ... ...
    there is loads of possibilities! and usually the priority levels keep changing by obstacles versus possible options ...

    i'm very curious for exchange of new ideas and sensible input, too, if you would like to be creative - i would love to consider it :)

    please be aware and consider that we are a bit away from civilization, that there is no car (unless you bring your own) and that work in a forest can be dangerous! therefor you will need to be very responsible and have your own insurance!! the next hospital is about 30km away...

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    this place of approximately 90 acres of wonderful woodland at a gorgeous lake is about 90min from the city of halifax or 30min from the town of bridgewater (car minutes). some parts are clear cut by previous owners, but most is beautiful mixed forest with some wet patches and brooks.

    unless you bring your own sort of camp you'll be hosted by a "plastic cave" = a tent that provides room for two ;) please bring your own sleeping bag and insolation mattress!

    there's only a shipping container for storage and cooking and two tents to sleep in (one for you, one for me) - no buildings, no running water, no electricity (!!!), not even an outhouse or car yet!
    by now there is a pretty leveled patch next to the brook where a camper van or so could park or a tent be set up. you would have a lot of privacy there and your own access path to the lake.

    food as well as trash needs to be handled with care as there are not only critters of all kinds, but also black bears and coyotes - who i would love to meet, just not in my kitchen or bed: so we must keep the site totally clean which requires some discipline and structure!!!

    drinking and dish washing water has to be carried from the lake up the hill to the camp and put through a filter (drinking water only). washing yourself can be done with a solar shower and only with enviromentally friendly soaps or better healing earth! no soaps at all in the lake, please, the sundew that grows ashore doesn't like it, neither the beaver.

    NO CAR means no day trips, no back and forth to the city or anywhere else with me,... - i do everything by bicycle! so if you want to come and stay you should be either fine with walking and hitchhiking or bring your own car or bike or whatever... or just come and stay all that time you stay ;)

    some summers it is so dry, there are wild fires in the area. when that is the case no smoking or any kind of fire is allowed at all!

    jeah, i know all this together sounds rugh to some people - if you want to come, you should really enjoy this kind of life. but if you do enjoy it, i'm sure you get your money's worth :)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Another sustainable forestry farm with a buddhism background is close by and offers a lot of different things to check out. there is the unesco world heritage old town of lunenburg 40km from here, atlantic shore with beautiful beaches , a very special bakery with art exhibition rooms, handcraft shop and library (both apprx. same distance), a big national park...
    on occasions you can use the two kayaks to stroll on the lake or your feet around the extended forests...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 488151689339