Help me out in the garden and teach me how to do DIY in beautiful West Coast, Florida, USA



Enregistré comme favori 170 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    I am Marie, a working lady (50's) with a flexible schedule, originally from Ireland a lifetime ago, now living in the beautiful sub tropical west coast of Florida. I share my modest and basic city cottage with a roommate, 2 friendly dogs and some cats none of which live in the main part of the house. I live within walking distance of the bus service and every kind of amenity needed. I am 10 minutes from the beautiful gulf beaches of Anna Maria Island. Very close to Robinson Preserve and Emerson Point Preserve. All these are beautiful natural areas with opportunities to kayak, swim, cycle, parasail, fish -- you name it. I sometimes find myself with more home improvement projects than I can keep up with both indoors and Outdoors. I would love a bit of training in using power tools that I already own. I am transforming a large overgrown backyard into a permaculture Food Forest with some patio areas. This is an ongoing project, so completion is not expected, just progress. As for myself, I am easy going and easy to get along with. I am a lifelong traveller and enjoy the sharing of cultures, stories, skills and ideas.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    English language of course. I have a unique perspective on life in the USA in general and Florida in particular having grown up in Ireland and travelled extensively and have many insights to share. The west coast of Florida has a particular sub-tropical flora & fauna and as a nature lover and newbie permaculture enthusiast I love to share what I have learned and exchange knowledge on these topics as well. We are a bus or car ride from Sarasota which is the cultural gem of the FL west coast, with every kind of cultural offering to partake in. I think of my home as a little bit of Europe in Florida, and my type of Florida living as a down to earth, back to nature, non-consumerist version of life in the USA.

  • Aide


    Currently I need help in the very overgrown backyard. Laying down Cardboard over a large overgrown area, (no roundup), loading wheelbarrow with mulch & heavily layering the whole area to suppress weeds. Painting a shed. Some digging to sink poles to support shade covers in a few areas, and to create a safe chicken enclosure. These are the types of tasks. I will be doing.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    A simple, basic but comfortable private bedroom, and shared bath. Roku for Netflix, You-Tube, internet news and other free programming. Usual living room & kitchen. This is a modest and basic but comfortable older home. If you are looking for marble counters and state of the art anything - this is not that home. Safe and in a safe neighborhood. My pets are friendly but are rarely in the main rooms. I am on a very limited budget but will provide ingredients.for basic breakfast, lunch and an evening meal. So please be prepared to cook for yourself if necessary, using what ingredients are provided. Any extra the workawayer would like they must provide for themselves.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Please show the respect of prompt communication. Also I have a strict no call no show equals immediate cancellation policy. If you know your arrival Arrangements will change, please inform me immediately.

    This location is ideal for a nature lover or beach lover. Transportation is available anywhere locally as well as further afield but it is not up to the standards of big cities either here or abroad. There is a lot to do and see culturally in Sarasota and Tampa / St. Pete, but it wouldn't be the best fit for someone looking for a hectic night-life on the doorstep.

    The Workawayer will be the best fit if they are a very independent person.

    I would like the Workawayer to come prepared to entertain themselves because although I am a friendly and warm person I also work and have many responsibilities and need plenty of private time and space. Unfortunately I am not in a position to be a good tour guide at this time. I am a non-smoker and definitely don't want any smoking in or around the house either openly or covertly :) That, and no active drug addictions, or thieving are about my only strict requirements. November through April is our 'winter' here in Florida where we have cooler weather but usually bright skies, with some summery days thrown in. May through October are our 'summer' months which include temps of 85 - 95 degrees F., tropical rains and thunderstorms & potential hurricanes.

    I think that if you are an independent, respectful, RELIABLE and self motivated person who has some skills and wants to help a little and have a lot of freedom to explore or chill out in a very nice location on the Gulf Coast of Florida - this will be a good fit for you!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 483467974918