mis à jour  

Help with permaculture place and enjoy nature in Sävar, Sweden

  • Suède
  • Enregistré comme favori 254 fois
  • Activité récente: 28 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description



    We are Susanne and Jonatan and we have a permaculture place in Northern Sweden. For a few years now we haven't hosted any workawayers, but this year we want to make new connections and we need some help. We are devloping a couple of independent flats in an old barn and building a new greenhouse as well as continuing to develop and improve the garden and different systems connected to it. For a few years Susanne ran a business based on the house and garden (B&B, flee-market, vegetable, fruit and berry growing and education), but she has since moved on to other employment. She still gardens extensively and give courses and talks on permaculture, growing your own food, soil, composting and similar topics.

    We are a family between three and eight humans and three dogs depending on the time of year. Our youngest child has moved away to study and only comes back during holidays. Jonatan works away during the week and our adult children, their partners and friends come and go as do parents and friends. We have lived abroad and we have had people living with us for longer and shorter periods. We enjoy getting to know and connecting with new people from all over the world. We welcome people of all ages, backgrounds and cultures.

    Our place is an ongoing project and there are always new areas being developed and new ideas being carried out. Anyone who wants to come here will have great opportunities to learn about permaculture design and implementation. We are looking forward to learning from you and the experiences you bring with you.

    We are not available to host between the 20th of July and the 7th of August 2023.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We hope that interacting with us will give you an opportunity to understand North Swedish culture and nature. Susanne is also working on her permaculture diploma and would love to share her knowledge of permaculture design with you.

  • Aide


    Volunteer work here will be varied and based around the creation and maintenance of the garden (mulching, planting, sowing, watering, harvesting etc) and maintaining and developing different structures such as barns and greenhouses. Early in the season work will mainly be propagation and some building/carpentry. Depending on your skills and interests it is possible to shape your contribution around those.

    We expect a volunteer to share some house work like cooking, washing up, tidying and the occasional dog walk.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Swedish: Courant
    Welsh: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Susanne would love to learn more Welsh! She's been learning through the apps Duolingo and SaySomethingInWelsh, but would love an opportunity to interact with a Welsh speaker.

  • Hébergement


    We have a large house with plenty of room for relaxing and interacting. We can accommodate from one to two people sharing a room. You will have your own room and live as part of the family with free access to wifi, TV, etc. We provide bedlinen and towels. If you have a camper van or a tent you rather stay in, that is also possible.

    We eat mostly vegan/vegetarian food.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Sävar is a thriving community of around 3500 people with basic services such as health care, school, grocery, pharmacy, flower shop, restaurants but also lots of community activities and events. Sävar is well connected by public transport and a bike lane to Umeå, the largest city in Northern Sweden which offers cultural activities, sport events, shopping and much more. Sävar is situated on the main road between the North and the South which means easy connection by car and coach to other towns and cities in the North. The area around Sävar is mainly forested, well suited for walking, fishing and berry and mushroom picking depending on the time of year. In the winter there are tracks for cross country skiing. There are always things happening in the local community, like cultural or sport events.

    With a valid drivers licence it may be possible to borrow one of our cars to go a bit further away, visit the mountains or other parts of the county. We also have bicycles that can be used to visit the sea or Holmön, an Island just off the coast with a music festival and other cultural events taking place in the summer.

    Umeå has, as said before, a lot of activities on offer. Umeå is well known for its alternative music scene and DIY-culture. It is easy to go to Skellefteå, Piteå or Luleå on a coach from Sävar. From Umeå you can go by train, plane or coach to many destinations in Sweden.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have stable broadband connection and the room has a desk where you can work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is room to park a campervan.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 481824441585

Feedback (4)



Experience family life on a small eco farm and help with gardening and DIY in Ucklum, Sweden
Learn Swedish with me as your tutor, enjoy cultural exchange and muck in on our hobby farm in Jämtland, Sweden