Help and learn at our permaculture farm in Dululu, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 13 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.03.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small hobby farm in central Queensland. We are in the process of renovating the original school, built in 1904, for our family to eventually make our home. We raise a variety of animals.... sheep, goats, donkeys, pigs, geese, ducks, chickens, ostriches, alpacas and bees. We also love gardening and we have both attended permaculture workshops and practice regenerative agriculture on our farm. We purchased the property nearly 3 years ago, and would love some help to keep working toward our goal of one day being completely self sufficient from our tiny farm. I cook all our food from scratch, so we do love to spend time in the garden and kitchen preparing meals and of course, eating. Our 3 tween/teeen children are also homeschooled, so even some assistance in that area would be a great help.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our small farm is located in Central Queensland, what most would consider the outback. We have embraced every aspect of life in the bush, and hope we could offer anyone who came to stay with us a similar experience. Australia has a unique culture, made up of all the different parts of the world that helped build this country, as well as its original owners. I am first generation Aussie, coming from Eastern European background, and my husband migrated from South Africa neatly 15 years ago. We believe we represent the cultural diversity that is Australia.
    We are within an hour to our closest rural city, and travel into town once or twice a week. There are many places to visit and, as the children are homeschooled, we regularly visit attractions, and participate in activities that help to widen our scope.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would appreciate anyone who is motivated to help in many different ways. High school level education homeschooling for the children. Help in the garden, watering, weeding and planting. Assisting in preparing meals, (but never to wait on us). Any assistance with animal care... basics would be as simple as daily feeding and watering, to more involved such as animal husbandry and help during birthing or bottle feeding babies.
    My husband would love help with any basic carpentry skills or simply an offsider to help him with home renovations, or general farm jobs such as concreting, welding or fencing skills.
    We are a busy, active family and would love to share our time with like minded people. We have so many dreams and plans, and it seems just not enough hours in the day, or spare hands to help out.
    We also love our downtime, and although we work hard on the farm, we definitely like to relax at the end of the day.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Afrikaans: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    A few years ago we had an exchange student from Brazil, who introduced us to the Portuguese language. We would love to have someone who could teach us some either Portuguese or Spanish. In saying that, we would I’ve to exchange cultures and learn languages from any part of the world, and hopefully we can share some of our mixed, and multicultural Aussie lifestyle.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is an air conditioned caravan, separate to the primary family home. We feel this gives anyone who stays with us their own space, if they should need it. We currently have access to a community toilet and shower block, but one of our upcoming projects is to build an off grid, rainwater shower, with a rocket stove to provide hot water, and a composting toilet, set up as a private ensuite for the caravan. All meals will be provided, with all and any food preferences catered for.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our small farm is on the outskirts of a village of only 13 houses. Most of the people here are older. We have a couple of families closer to our ages with younger children still living at home, and we quite regularly get together for bbqs and dinners. There are tennis courts available for the locals to use, and we will often all have an evening of tennis. We also love music and sometimes like to play guitar around the fire. The children play a number of instruments including violin, piano and drums, although the drums are currently packed away in our shipping container.We also have set up a basic social media so our friends and family can follow our adventures on the farm, but would love any assistance in that area as we are always busy with life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We do have a limited amount of internet data, so that would have to be taken into account when deciding what type of digital nomad we could accommodate.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size caravan or motorhome is welcomed at our farm. There is also a caravan dump site in our closest village, less than 500m up the road.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 467324858542