Come and join the family fun, Newfoundland, Canada!

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 228 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 22 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Katy, Lloyd, kids

    Located on Random Island, at the end of the road, on the edge of pristine wilderness and ocean. We are a young happy family with 3 robust, delightful daughters aged 6, 4, and 2.

    We have a beach facing property on a fjord, during the summer months there are whales and eagles on our doorstep. We are slowly becoming more self sufficient setting up a homestead style of living. We have a dog, a cat, two milking goats and chickens.

    We have been hosting with workaway for three years before the pandemic and have really enjoyed the company of all our hostees! We have made great progress on our property and projects over the last two years and could not have done it without the help of our guests!

    We are really appreciate the shared experience of work and play we get from hosting travelers making their life's story's.

    We are also busy with our adventure tourism business which involves snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, boat trips, and need help with the homestead and projects we have on the go. We make and up cycle materials and find thrifty and holistic ways to do things whenever we can. We farm, we forage and we try to be self sufficient. We are both travelers with itchy feet and love the company of workaways.

    When you stay with us you are part of the family. Especially because we have energetic children our house is not a meticulous well organized eat off the floor kind of setup, and it is also not a 20 cat, goat in the house hole in the wall shack either, we are kinda in the middle. We leave our shoes on down stairs but we sweep and mop at the end of the day. Some things we need help with in the spring of 2022 are:

    Minding are little one's, taking them for adventures to the beach and such. Reading books, helping with another language, playing games, cooking, cleanup around the house.

    Building a cabin on an island that's 12 knots by boat.

    Finishing a dug in green house or walipini.

    Sowing in gardens which includes gathering kelp from the ocean.

    Repairing/redoing fiberglass boats and building a trailer. I am converting a 28ft cabin cruiser to be a dive boat and I have a 26 foot sailboat to raise the cabin on and convert to junk rig.

    Install a 6ft chain-link fence around a new garden so to keep out goats and keep in chickens

    That's about it for now although there are always a few small projects popping up. Oh ya have to rebuild an injection pump on farm tractor when kit gets here. We have wood working tools, small band-saw mill. Welding projects always seem to pop up for those who are interested in that stuff. Bit of concrete work from time to time, I make concrete fence posts. We make our own home brew and wine! But don't worry we are too old to drink much with out destroying the next day from hangover so don't get the wrong impression ;)

    I will try and get back to you asap now and pretty much all are welcome but we can only take 3-4 max.

    Hope to see you this year my friends!!

    Lloyd, Katy and family

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be living with well traveled, worldly Newfoundlander and British hosts. We live in a typical Newfoundland bay area and live closely with the land and the sea. Lots to see and lots to learn.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have LOTS to do so let us know what you're interested in!

    Family life maintenance and childcare

    - Helping to run the show when it comes to feeding the family and the workaways. Maintaining a tidy, clean and functioning house. Offering an extra hand or entertainment for the children when possible (not childcare as a parent is always present). The girls loves meeting new friends and showing them how to use a trampoline.

    Building/ Infrastructure development

    Gardening

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Like to learn spanish!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a bunk bed bedroom and can take up to 4 workers at a time. There are many places to go to get privacy. We have 1 shower and 1 toilet. There are also camping spots if someone would prefer.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 40min from the nearest town. We are 2.5 hours away from St Johns, a bus can transport you for $40 each way.

    Lots to do around the property, biking, walking, hiking, swimming, snorkelling, kayaking if experienced enough.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    max 25 hours/week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















N° de référence hôte : 466222938657