Help me rewild the landscape and grow food in Arcos, Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 31 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 29 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In this moment of my life I’m in a kind of personal quest for simplicity and awareness to detail around me. Less is (feeling increasingly) more. Nature has been a good teacher these last five years I’ve lived in a family-owned farm and slowly and unexpectedly become a farmer.

    I'm currently in the process of quitting my job and switching to living from growing my own food and towards a more off-grid and ecological daily life.

    I'm particularly interested in rewilding the land and in the ideas of syntropic agroforestry, but I like to learn/explore anything agroecological. I still don't know exactly how I will able to make a living out of these explorarions but I can be quite persistent, so I guess I'll eventually find a way :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I like to talk and discuss about truly broad ideas. I'm interested in new and creative social orders (or disorders), ecology and biology, plants and agriculture in general, literature, psychology (Carl Jung!), anthropology/social theory, philosophy, religion. I have a lot of stuff/ideas to share, I think. I've also learned a bit about farming and agroecology in the last few years and I can of course share this knowledge.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I spend a lot of time working in the farm's agroforests and doing whatever needs to be done around the farm, from building to repairing stuff to experiment with new ideas - there's never an end to it and it's always different!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In a confy room in a normal bed. A bit cold in winter (the fire place has to be kept on if you wish to escape freezing!)
    Foodwise I can't at the moment guarantee your daily menu. However, depending on the season, there'll be agroforest vegetables and fruits. We'll cook together or on turns - as we feel like.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The farm is located near the village of Arcos (2km from the farm), Estremoz/7km from the farm). There are buses to Estremoz from Lisbon and other cities. I can pick you at the bus stop.
    I can lend you a bycicle during your stay. I can give you lifts to and from Estremoz to the farm. I might consider lending you the truck if you're an experienced driver :)

    Estremoz is a lovely small historical town - although not very busy, except for saturday morning's market, which is pretty cool. Borba and Vila Viçosa are beautiful too. It's a very agricultural area so there aren't a lot of wild natural places around to explore, except perhaps for Serra de Ossa, a small mountainous area some 15km from here.
    This area is also the main Iberian Peninsula one for neolithic findings

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The wi-fi connection is pretty realiable... in the mornings

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Not with dogs for a long periods, as they will scare away my cats and eventually drive them out of the property! Also, the agriculture areas aren't currently fenced/protected against dogs, so I'll only consider hosting dogs that don't tend to dig holes in veg gardens! I've already dug enough! :)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 457787349576