Join me with projects such as food rescue, education, DIY, composting and permaculture in Nimes, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 39 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (NOTE: Builders/crafty folk and organizers most needed and welcomed!)

    UPDATES : I welcome French language lessons desperately so if you can teach me, this would be excellent. Structured lessons are how I learn best.

    Covid-19 precautions are taken seriously in my household and are expected of everyone.

    Thank you! 10 October 2020.
    *****

    Originally from the United States and now in France. I have several ambitious projects I need help with for the not-easily daunted. One major project addresses Food Waste and right now it's in the beginning stage with a new partnership with the local university. I need can-doers who can help me get it to the next stages. It is a food waste recycling program.

    I have a commitment to organic farming and the total elimination of food waste and try to live my life in alignment with these values. I am building a project that helps educate citizens (working with schools, etc) to solutions to this problem. I don’t yet have land but I am working on it (that's where you can help!)

    I live in a large two bedroom apartment in a quiet area of the city and can accommodate 1 person long term and 2 people short term. It is not wheelchair accessible. It's an old building without an elevator.

    I am a teacher, in addition to launching this project, so my funds are limited and I cannot provide meals at this point. All volunteers must provide for all their expenses. Yes - and we have to be mindful of electricity, gas and water usage.

    I am accepting honest, simple and joyful volunteers who have integrity, a clear moral compass and knows the value of one's word being one's bond - meaning, when you say you will do something, you are hell bent on doing it! And if you can not, it's not a problem, but you must let me know immediately and help come up with another solution.

    The ideal is to make a valuable program which benefits my region, is a joy to create, nourishes the spirit and all done with a limited amounts of stress. How we work together and treat each other is just as important as achieving the project's goals.

    If you know about regenerative economics, creating strong, collaborative teams, the principles and guidelines of Permaculture, it would be great to have you.

    If you have a genuine interest in those topics, it would be great to have you.

    If you're a student studying these or other disciplines that you think would be useful to a project like this, it would be great to have you!

    And, if you speak French, great. If not, and you know how to not let that be an obstacle, then fantastic. You are welcome.

    I need help in every area imaginable:
    - personal assistant (household management, decluttering, cleaning, cooking, errands, etc.)
    - organization
    - research
    - networking
    - project management
    - compost makers/enthusiasts
    - creativity, imagination
    - can-do spirit and practical know-how to get things done
    - DIY crafty/Builder - trash into gold mentality
    - this is by no means an exhaustive list and other things will come up !

    There are other projects that I'm working on that ideally will support and be integrated with the above project.

    That's it for now. Feel free to write and we can set up a time to talk.

    A bientot!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Bénévolat
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
    Enseignement

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers could learn how to :
    - create a fully functioning association grounded in integrity.
    - repurpose found objects.
    - immersion in a new culture.
    - probably lots more !

  • Aide

    Aide

    I have some parameters for how I see these projects going - I want to solve the problem of food waste without creating new ones in my city.

    If you absolutely adore puzzling through a problem and coming up with actionable, tangible solutions, then write to me.

    I also need help with conducting research on the internet , within France and in my city. Fluency in French and English would be absolutely helpful, but if you don't have either; that's ok too.

    For the apartment, I have several DIY projects including installing kitchen shelves. See photos below of kitchen goal examples.

    Due to the nature of the help and some of the local volunteers we will have; drugs, smoking (including e-cigarettes) and alcohol are not permitted. If you have any medical or emotional conditions, this will not be a good fit.

    This is not a strictly vegetarian home, but it is an entirely natural foods and and non-toxic products home. Ex: synthetic perfumes, colognes, nail polish and high fume products are not welcome. Thank you for your understanding !

    Volunteers will be expected to clean up after themselves and share in cleaning/keeping common areas tidy.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own bedroom with a two-person bed. There is a doorway that connects the two bedrooms (the previous tenants took the door off. :/ ), but the passage way is blocked with large boxes, and a curtain. Privacy is important! All bedrooms have separate, private access as they all lead to the common hallway.

    There is one bathroom with toilet, shower and sink. The other bathroom is not available.

    The kitchen has a fridge, gas stove and sink. It is a tiny kitchen. But it is functional. Creative ideas for making more storage are welcome. See photos for example goals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Lovely ancient Roman city with great architectural heritage. Easy bus and train options to go hiking in and exploring nearby forests, beaches.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I would like to know more about what this means so if this is something that applies to you, let’s discuss.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (food not provided)


N° de référence hôte : 452423138895