Share my little bit of paradise helping in my garden with stunning views in Sabina, Italy

  • Enregistré comme favori 41 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 avr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Five years ago I took early retirement and moved from the north of Scotland the land of my birth to Central Italy. I am a keen amateur gardener and I am slowly knocking my one acre garden into shape. I have installed a swimming pool and I am gradually adding shrubberies and floral boarders to it. It sits in the middle of an olive grove that also includes a myriad of fruit trees and a small orto. I love using my produce to make seasonal Italian dishes. When I’m not working in the garden, or cooking, as a retired Art teacher I am busy making pots to go in my garden. I have my own pottery and art studio in my basement.
    I live in a very authentic Italian village as there is little tourism in the area. My neighbours are great at giving gardening advice to me but a lot of the work requires at least two pairs of strong hands; Moving soil, digging, stacking wood, trimming trees, laying gravel, putting up fences etc.
    I’ve learned that things grow at a phenomenal rate here in Italy and it’s a full time job keeping things in check. The garden has stunning panoramic views and from the kitchen window in the distance you can spot an ancient bell tower that was built in 1114. There are lots of beautiful medieval hill villages in the locality that are wonderful to explore. If you are a keen walker there are many magical local treks or a €3 train fare can get you into Central Rome in fifty minutes….. a great way to spend an afternoon.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My house, garden and olive grove is in the heart of the Italian countryside famous for growing olives and producing the best olive oil. The garden is a very typical Italian country garden with a multitude of fruit trees and seasonal vegetables. It is 100% organic and the biodiversity of both animal and plant life in my garden and the 3 acres of hillside I also own is astounding. Guests can see first hand how a garden grows when you put Mother Nature in charge. My village and the many surrounding villages hold traditional festas throughout the year. Ranging from Snail, Donkey and garden festivals to Jazz and food. There is a great feeling of community here and a tradition of living from the land and yet we also have the benefit of the city of Rome within easy and cheap commuting distance. There is a wee shop in the village and for local entertainment we have a very friendly and lively village bar that is open 365 days a year just a five minute walk away. It serves the best coffee and is always good if you feel like chatting to the locals.

  • Aide


    Gardening duties that would include digging, moving soil, laying gravel, mending fences, pruning, lots of wheelbarrowing, taking care of an olive grove and general maintenance about the exterior of the house. Workers need to be able to handle mechanical gardening tools, hedge trimmers, brush cutters, woodchipper etc. and work at heights from ladders for cutting and trimming hedges etc. I am very hands on myself but a large garden often needs two pairs of hands! A gardeners work is never done as well as general annual maintenance we constantly like creating new projects for ourselves and garden.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    The house is a three bedroom 20th century villa on three floors, with a studio on the ground floor, built into the hillside. It sits atop a ridge and has 360° panoramic views across the countryside and the foothills of the Apennine Mountains. There is a large studio bedroom available with views across the garden on the ground floor for guests. This floor also includes a summer kitchen, a bathroom and my pottery studio. This area also includes a lounge area where guests can spend a quiet time by themselves if they wish. Guests are welcome to help themselves to any fruit growing in the garden and the use of the swimming pool, which is normally open from May to October. ( I’m Scottish so the temperature is still ok for me then!) I have a large driveway that can take a campervan if needed.
    I’m a good cook and happy to provide three meals a day but would expect guests to help themselves to breakfast and help in preparation and clearing up in the kitchen. Likewise I would expect guests to look after there own bedroom, bathroom, washing etc. I am a non smoker and I would prefer it if my guests were non smokers also.
    There is good Internet access both in the house and garden. I have two pets, an outdoor cat who is a great hunter and a very lovable if naughty Shiba Inu dog.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is public bus transport available in the village Approx twice a day. For keen walkers you just need to step outside the garden gate and head in any direction and you will find numerous landmarks to interest and intrigue you. The train station is a ten minute drive away and I’m happy to pick up and deliver guests to it. €3 into Rome by train fifty minutes away. If I’m out and about and it’s suitable for guests to join me I’m happy for them to accompany me. Ciampino airport is one hour away by road and has bus links into Rome and Fiumicino airport has a direct rail link ( €11) to the train station at the bottom of my hill.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a large secure driveway with easy access that can take large campervans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 443832239839

Feedback (4)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)