Permaculture regeneration project looking for some enthusiastic helpers in Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 576 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update:
    We are expecting a new born and are looking for experienced people to help with building work. Most of the time you will be working along skilled craftsmen! Great opportunity to get involved with natural building. There are several projects on the go so get in touch to find out more.

    Please get in touch if you’re interested in the other roles too!

    Bush Retreat and Holistic Sanctuary

    Hi, our name's are Millo & Lucy. We're regenerating this once abandoned rural farm into a holistic sanctuary and nature conservation area where we'll be inviting protectors, guardians and ecosystem restoration campers wanting to help build a community of people who wish to work for the conservation of nature where domesticated animals are used collaboratively using holistic management techniques and where the role of wild animals is respected and understood in terms of maintaining ecological balance.

    The land is located in the heart region of Portugal. The Serra da Estrela area. Our dream is for this land to become an Ecosystem Restoration Camp & Regenerative Agriculture Collective with creative space as a hub.

    Easy going, kind and straightforward people are invited to volunteer and participate. Empathy and kindness are essential.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I have a strong connection with a growing community of permaculture projects around here so if you are interested in meeting more people where potentially you could also visit on a work exchange basis then I could be a bridge to that.

    I believe in fair exchange, so when it comes to communication I expect a fair and equal exchange based on honest sharing and empathy. If you like to talk or preach a lot then this might not be the place for you.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We're looking for easy going people with a good sense of awareness regarding personal boundaries and full circle living. There is no fixed schedule here, and once we've agreed on your assigned tasks/projects then you can work to a schedule that suits you. We ask for 4-5 hours a day in exchange for food and accommodation or 2-3 hours a day in exchange for accommodation/camping only and if they would like to join in meals then we would ask for a weekly contribution towards food expenses.

    Projects:

    Building work
    If you are interested in participating /learning skills pertaining to natural building then the following projects may interest you. There will be different areas of work available depending on what point you get involved. If you have carpentry or building skills this is a real plus, however genuine interest and desire to learn about natural building is definitely an advantage.

    Communal area
    We are currently building a structure that will become the communal kitchen and hangout area. This space will also function as a café and area to host events in the future!
    This timber frame structure may incorporate some cob and/or straw bale work.

    Outdoor toilet and shower
    Another project we have on the go is the dual vault natural build toilet and outdoor shower. It has an adobe style base and we are planning to build a timber frame structure over the top of it.

    Caravan fitout
    We need someone with ability and skills at transforming our run down caravan into a cosy palace :-) ... and once the project is finished, if you decide you wish to stay long term then it can be your accommodation for the time that you're here.

    Roles:

    Garden helper
    Paul (our resident gardener) has done an amazing job transforming the garden, this has been no mean feat but we hope to one day see the landscape transformed.
    Regenerating the land and building soil is a top priority and there are always jobs to help with on the land!
    This ranges from watering, bush clearing, mulching, harvesting, planting and making compost/biochar.

    Animal lover
    If you love to care for animals then this is the place for you! One role is being responsible for feeding and caring for our animal family. We have 2 donkeys (Linda and Olive). Olive is two months old and they are both very peaceful and a joy to be around! We work with the donkeys to create natural fire breaks. 7 pigs (Bhagi, Rosie and 5 piglets!). The piglets are only two weeks old and love to play with each other, although they can be a bit shy around humans. 4 dogs (Tai, Blu, Willi and Kori). Lots of chickens, chicks, pigeons and 1 cat!

    Kitchen maestro:
    Do you love to cook? Me and Lucy are preparing for the coming of our new born and right now we are full on. It would be a great benefit for us to have someone that can help take care of preparing healthy lunch and dinner meals for us and the crew here.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    This project is still in its infancy and therefore quite basic. Because of this it may not accommodate all tastes.

    There are several options when it comes to accommodation:

    1. You can pitch up a tent under the mimosas. It's a cool spot in summer and often includes a hammock very close by. There are also other areas around if you prefer somewhere more private.

    2. We have a van which has a comfortable bed, wood burner, kitchen stove, storage compartments, some shelves and a small desk. Clean and comfortable.

    Showers:

    Until we get our proper shower built (see building projects above) ...

    We have a simple earth built outdoor shower that uses a bucket shower system and where we can heat water during the colder months.

    There is a shower cubicle in the house for simple (but warm) bucket and cup showers.

    During the summer months we also like to keep cool and shower using the water from the tank too.

    Toilet:

    Until we get our proper composting toilet built (see building projects above) ...

    There is currently a composting toilet in the basement of the house.

    Kitchen:

    Regarding the running of the house, especially the kitchen. It's a shared space, and so it's up to everyone to maintain good habits with regards to order and cleanliness. This, along with helping to keep this area litter free is always highly appreciated.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have a good working bike that you can use to go out and explore the area. There are also plenty of cafes in the surrounding villages where you could hang out, have a coffee, play cards and learn the Portuguese ways with the locals.

    If you prefer peaceful and quiet activities then there are plenty of places around here to meditate, read a book or just relax. If you are interested in yoga then you can find a quiet space where you can practice yoga.

    In summer we often have regular community events so you will be welcome to join in on those events when they happen. Millo also likes to do some reggae nights, either at a venue, or on the farm, just to keep himself sane.

    A note on some things you could consider bringing with you:

    - torch
    - sleeping bag
    - wet weather gear / waterproof jacket
    - work boots
    - work clothes that you don't mind getting muddy or stained
    - warm clothes for evenings and for sleeping in when it gets cold
    - hat for sunny weather
    - towel - a small quick drying one is good

    Please do not bring any toiletries/soaps that contain harmful chemicals or are not biodegradable.

    We have work gloves you can borrow if needed, and wellies can be bought cheaply or we may have some your size.

    We can appreciate that people may want to enjoy a drink from time to time but this is not the place for heavy drinkers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Not entirely, but in the village which is 20 minute walk away there is an Inatel Hotel (4 star) that has quite spaces like a TV room, billiard room and library where they will allow quiet and well dressed people to sit down, have a coffee and get online ...

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    If you have your own campervan or motorhome then this would be ideal as accommodation here (especially in winter) is limited.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (food) or 2-3 hours a day (+ food contribution)

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.0)

Communication: (4.7)







N° de référence hôte : 442354995433