Working with alpacas at an agricultural project in Dordogne, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 420 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.02.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    114

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband is English and I am of french descent born on the island of Mauritius.

    My husband was a geophysicist and myself varied career - teaching English as a Foreigh Language, coffee shop owner in South Africa, hand-made chocolates own business, financial adviser for an insurance company.

    We have both travelled a lot and lived in different countries. We have lived in the UK for the past 24 years and have moved to France 6 years ago. We have bought a large farmhouse and almost finished the renovations. We are now entering our 6th year and our plans have changed due to the Covid episode and the extreme weather we have had both in winters and summers.

    We are concentrating solely on breeding and selling alpacas and transforming their wonderful fibres.

    We receive visitors and also organise walk with the alpacas. We would like to create an environment where guests can have the alpaca experience and also learn to get back into nature and self sufficiency.

    If you are hard working, interested in alpacas and their fibre - knitting etc you are welcome. We are need helpers for upkeep and renewal of fences and cutting woods. Anyone interested in painting is also welcome.

    2022 is upon us and we are moving on with work with the alpacas and the biodiversity in our fields and forests.

    We are again expecting quite a few crias (baby alpacas) this year and will be doing further work in managing new fields and shelters.

    Farming lifestyles can be very hard work. Fields and barns hygiene maintenance also very challending when wet.

    If you also like cooking this would be a bonus.

    You would need to be vaccinated again Covid.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Way of life in France and also be in a family that has been well travelled.

    In the summer we are open to the public by appointments. Different styles of cooking and we are an easy going family and we were a host family for foreign students whilst living in the UK. Learn with us how to start a small holding and being as self sufficient as possible. Possibilities to experience breeding alpacas and the transformation of the fiber.

    Working five x 5 hour days and having 2 days off. I am also flexible as to working hours as long as we have discussed before.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are active on several fronts. These include renovation of the farmhouse, fencing to create extra parks in the forest for the animals, establishing new orchards and vegetable gardens. We also have woodlands which have been abandoned with lots of cutting of woods. Fruit Trees pruning work.

    The animals also need daily care. Currently we have alpacas, a pair moutons d'ouessant and 2 goats (one needs milking daily). In summer the alpagas are expecting crias, and in April they are all shorn so it is time for fiber transformation.

    We need helpers who are motivated and can help on their own when required and not worried to get their hands dirty.
    They must be enthusiastic in understanding what we are trying to achieve and see life and the hard work associated with agriculture and keeping animals.

    . We are flexible as long as you are trustworthy and wanting to involve yourself with our knowledge of farming and learn along the way and also help us in daily tasks and projects. Other projects at this time is planting and upkeep of the gardens/orchards. Animal welfare, upkeep of barns and fencing. Also preparing the land for next season planting.



    Please ask me if you require further information as there are other very varied tasks.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation two double bedroom with own separate bathroom. Double bed and two singles. Can accommodate a couple or 2 females.

    Meals are flexible. Having lunches and dinners do not count as working hours.
    We do appreciate help with the meals and clearing up afterwards. There is a train station that you can take to travel around.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are in a rural, agricultural situation, about 50kms east of Bordeaux. The town of Montpon-Menesterol, with most amenities, is 5 minutes by car. No bus but trains and taxis. There are several lakes and walking trails nearby. Reasonably close to famous wine regions. Spectacular scenery and medieval towns along the Dordogne river. Canoeing, cycling, local markets.

    Looking for hard working individuals who do not mind getting their hands dirty. We live and work on a farm and work can be messy. You need to bring your gloves and working boots though we have a variety of boots here for those travelling light.

    Birthing season starts in March. We have an alpaca concours in April/easter weekend. Shearing is end of April. Summer is also very busy with tourists also etc.

    Please let me know if you require further information.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day over 5 days. 5 days work and 2 days off

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.6)

Communication: (4.0)























N° de référence hôte : 433476875951