Besoin d'un peu d'aide avec des projets de permaculture, Montsant, Espagne

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 24 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we live in the foothills of Montsant wine region on a finca surrounded by pines, oaks, birds & butterflies. We’re city folk who arrived here 2 years ago and have loved exploring rural life and finding connection with nature and the land. We’re inspired to “do our part” with our 4 hectare homestead and are dedicated to caring for our land using restorative agriculture and permaculture principals.

    Our agriculture projects focus on nursing abandoned fruit and nut trees back to health and on improving habitat and plant life by developing a new food forest, a mini citrus grove, herb, veggie and flower beds.

    We like to work hard, but then rest well in the fresh air, and among the birds and the beautiful views of nearby vineyards and mountains. In the evenings, when not busy with indoor officey-type work, we like to pass our time listening to crickets and star gazing.

    We’re kept company here with our inherited cat (he came with the land!) and our recently adopted a sweet 9 year old dog. Both are friendly and will welcome any extra attention!

    We don’t sell anything from the homestead, all produce is for our own consumption, or to share with friends and family.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are fledgling farmers and land managers and happy to share with you all we’ve learned of our 2 year experience adapting permaculture techniques. Our old fruit trees provide us with opportunity to put real disease and pest management in action! You can also learn about soil health, how to plant trees, prepare beds, forage native plants and a hundreds of other little things.

    We are a mixed language/culture household. Maria, your primary host, is from San Francisco and is fluent in English, advanced in Spanish and beginner in Catalan. Pepe, who you’ll work and share meals with occasionally, is a Barcelona native and fluent in all three languages. We are happy to communicate accordingly.

    Maria loves to cook and will introduce you to some traditional Spanish and Catalan dishes. Season dependent, you could also help preserve harvested fruit and forage, use and/or store native plants.

    In your free time, you can take advantage of the opportunities to visit charming villages and learning about Catalan culture, as well as spend time in a great variety of landscapes. Wine and olive orchard tastings and tours are available, as are cave painting excursions, hang gliding, river sport and the like.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We will happily welcome helpers with experience, but experience is certainly not a requirement. Workaways need only be motivated, have a zest for learning and be ready to build up a sweat and getting dirty!

    You will help us with these ongoing Projects:

    - Fruit Tree Care - Apply natural foliar sprays, pest/disease management, mulching, pruning.
    - New tree planting.
    - General gardening - Weeding, manual watering, preparing beds, planting, composting.
    - Land Maintenance - Strimming, firewood prep, cane & bamboo removal.
    - Harvesting for self consumption (Depending on season) - Sept/October – almonds, walnuts; November – olives.

    - Help with meal prep and/or cleanup.

    And other potential Projects we may tackle, depending on our current priorities and on your skills:

    o Hand build wind breaks for food forest from harvested cane
    o Make artful signage for property lines and labels for trees and plants
    o Plant identification and foraging
    o Build chicken coop and enclosure
    o Assist with variety of building projects (stone wall building, masonry, painting, etc)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Catalan: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You can choose to camp on the land or stay in our self-contained, work-in-progress studio apartment located over the storage garage. Regardless of where you sleep, you will have access to your own:

    o kitchen equipped w/ camp stove, refrig & sink
    o full bathroom with hot running water

    MEALS – We will have one shared meal together daily and provide provisions for you to prepare your own meals at other times (Monday – Friday). We anticipate you will be off exploring the area on weekends and will be eating out or picnicking so you’ll be on your own for Sat & Sunday meals.

    We are omnivores but can accommodate vegetarian diets.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is lots to do on your time off and the area is great for nature explorers.

    We’re just 1 km to small town of Marca and 3 km to Falset, which is the capital of the Priorat wine region, and has good restaurants/bars/shops/bakeries, and such. There is also a bus station in Falset for to access small local villages and nearby towns.

    The Marca/Falset train station is just a 10 minute walk, and has direct (2hr) train ride to Barcelona.

    Rock climbing and river sport are close by and accessible by car and hiking trails are right out our front door.

    You are welcome to use our 2 (not so fancy) bicycles for local trips.

    We have a swimming pool that can be enjoyed during your down time.

    We ask that you respectfully abstain from drugs/marijuana or drinking during volunteer hours, and there is no heavy partying or loud music.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week maximum


N° de référence hôte : 423727879491