1 / 5

Enjoy small town charm and quiet life with my dog and me in central PA, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 32 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, Everybody,
    I'm Sheila and I am a retired NYC public school teacher. I have also lived and taught abroad, spending about 8 years in Vietnam. I have traveled throughout Asia and spent time in France studying the language. That's where I discovered workaway! It all started when I wanted to find a way to immerse myself in the French language and culture in a more natural way instead of limiting myself to French classes. I had a number of very positive experiences and have kept in touch with my hosts. Currently, I am living with my dog in central Pennsylvania and we have a little house nestled in the hills of a charming small town. We are about 40 minutes away from Penn State University and 40 minutes away from Williamsport. We are 5 minutes away from the charming town of Lock Haven and Lock Haven University. We have a small second bedroom and from time-to-time, I have thought "wouldn't it be nice to offer this to someone who might like to stay with us for a little while?" Living alone, I have become fairly independent but I can also be socially outgoing and I have missed having real connections with others. My dog and I have been living in this area for just about a year now, and we are slowly making friends. I don't have a specific project in mind but rather the beginnings of some ideas and I could be open to potential workawayers proposing what they might like to offer. Some ideas that were beginning to form in my mind were that I could offer english-language practice, a peaceful and quiet place to stay for someone that might be working on their own projects (i.e. a student who needs time for studying) and I would love it if someone were interested in interacting with my dog (walking her or just playing with her or just being here at home with her if I were gone for a few hours, or even overnight), and if someone knew anything about little around-the-house jobs or little garden projects that would be amazing. Also I have a small cargo van and I would love some help converting it into a camper! If you are interested in this part of PA, and you like what you are reading so far, I am open to whatever you might propose! I am flexible and can be talkative and outgoing as well as quiet and inward so depending on your energy, I might be able to adapt to a variety of energy styles.
    I have received the Covid vaccine and booster shots and I'd prefer that you have, too. I am an ally and supporter and participant in the LGBTQ+ community and BLM movement. I believe in science, women's rights, love, kindness, understanding, and compassion. If that sounds good to you, please get in touch.
    This area is in close proximity to renowed places to fish (I don't fish so I don't know the details but people who fish know all about the best places to go). There are many hiking trails, and even the Pine Creek Rail Trail (a 62 mile trail) starts not too far from here and goes to the PA Grand Canyon. I am not a hunter but we are surrounded, and I do mean surrounded by state game lands. There is a junction for the mid-state trail about 20 minutes away and it's beautiful for a day hike or even longer. Lots of farms and fresh produce and rolling hills and small town friendliness, which I am getting used to as I lived most of my life in New York City!!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bring your instrument with you and let's play music! I am a very good beginner on the button accordian! You might also learn what it's like to live in this part of the world and this part of the US and we can learn together as I am new myself!! I can show you how I work with and teach my dog good communication skills and how I teach her to relax and how to explore the outdoors.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I really am flexible here. I think it would depend on your comfort level with my dog, the season, our personality styles etc. Perhaps messaging back and forth and even a video chat might help us to see if we'd like to try out an exchange.
    Also, I have a little cargo van and would love some help in making it a little bit more like a camper van!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Getting rusty with my French! Happy to speak my native language (English) with you

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You would have your own private bedroom and share bathroom with me. In the private bedroom you would have a closet, 2 windows, desk/chair/lamp, and full sized mattress that lays on the floor and can be folded into a couch during the day. Gosh, I forgot about the food!! I can make us coffee!! How about we keep this open for discussion and perhaps we take turns cooking or divide up the shopping for groceries/cooking/cleaning up activities! Life is different when you live alone ha ha. At the minimum, I will provide food and you can prepare what you like and cook for yourself but would be great to have some meals together, too!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Unfortunately, in smaller towns in America, public transport is not valued! I could drop you somewhere and pick you back up, or you could take my car and go on your own. We could also see about getting you a bicycle and that would be a great investment for me to make for future workawayers. You could enjoy the botanical gardens and the Penn State University campus, walk around the charming town of Lock Haven, go for a ride on the rail trail, fish, hunt, hike, spend time in the library, take a day or overnight trip to the PA Grand Canyon, NY wine country, or day trips to other state parks.
    My life is fairly quiet. I spend the days hanging out with, interacting with, or walking my dog. I also volunteer at the library, the local theater, and the conservation district. I exercise, meditate, bake, cook, mow the grass, practice the accordion, and enjoy short trips to visit family or longer trips to have some adventures with my dog and attend dance festivals or music workshops.
    Please be "verified ID" on your profile and share with me some form of identification when you come to stay.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Campervan could fit in driveway. Anything bigger, please get in touch and I will measure

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    A dog is a possibility. Would need to discuss our respective dogs energy levels and plan for how they will meet so they are both comfortable.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    flexible but an average of 4 hours per day./ 5 days max a week

N° de référence hôte : 421483176165

Photos

Feedback

Home et dog-sitting à Chester, Virginia, USA
Besoin d'aide pour construire 2 petites structures de cabine, Cambridge, USA