Small family farm in Northern California

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 502 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    106

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 41 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family farm. We have chickens, pigs, goats and gardens. We are situated in a beautiful small valley in Northern California, Mendocino County.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You could learn about basic small family farm practices, relating to both animal care and raising vegetables. We, freeze, can preserves and dehydrate food. We butcher our own chickens and pigs. We press apple, pear and grape juice from our garden. We raise most of the food we eat, and make a point of preparing things ourselves. There are generally 3 of us in the main house and our daughter and son in law in the small house. We have all lived in other countries and welcome opportunities to interact with interesting people.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are retired school teachers in our 70ties, and could use help on our 5-acre property and with caring for gardens and animals. We use organic practices and are conscious of how we use the land and water.

    Spring is a rush with everything bursting out in new growth, including blackberries trying to get a foothold. There is planting, weeding, pruning and general cleaning up.
    Summer is hot and lazy necessitating early starts and some evening work, with time in the afternoon to laze on the river, read, play games, or take a siesta.
    August through October there are fruits and vegetables to care for, harvest and cook, can, freeze or sell.

    We have a flock of about 60 laying hens, and you might help with their daily care, collecting, cleaning, and boxing eggs. Also there are tasks to clean, trim and remove weeds (blackberries) on the property, feed pigs, sheep, ducks and generally help out.

    I always appreciate anyone who is an organizer and cleaner, as I would rather be outdoors. I love to cook and make good food, and love to see how others cook and am ready to appreciate the results.

    We’re trying to get a fence building project under way. More heads and hands would be a big help.

    My husband is a potter and has a pottery studio that might interest you.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My husband learned Spainish while in the Peace Corps in Bolivia in his twenties. In addition, we as a family spent two years teaching in Santa Cruz Bolivia. Then we spent nine years teaching in Russia, Kazakhstan, Turkey and Thailand. We always appreciated the opportunity to learn new customs and languages and the many local people’s help and patience while we learned.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a large bedroom with a personal bathroom. We eat wholesomely, and as much as possible, what we raise.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Potter Valley is 15 minutes from Ukiah, CA and 2 hours north of San Francisco. There is no local public transportation in Potter Valley. Ukiah, 20 minutes away has public transit north and south.

    We are in a beautiful rural setting and close to many camping and hiking places. We are surrounded by vineyards and mountains, and the Russian River runs through the valley. There are nearby places to hike, and swim. And the Pacific Coastline is a beautiful hour and a half drive away.

    Some Workaway guests have been able to avail themselves of paid work in their off hours.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We are rural and the internet here is basic. It is generally dependable, but isn’t extremely fast, although we have no issues with streaming videos and zooming. Others have successfully worked digitally from here.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Camper-vans are fine, but we don’t have space or hookups for an RV.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have a Jack Russell Terrier, an American Leopard Hound, and two young cats. Four ducks and chickens wander the yards. If your pet will get along, we’d would welcome it.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum about 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, with flexibility to accommodate side work, travel and exploration.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)













N° de référence hôte : 416176698998