Happy relaxed household welcomes you to rural Somerset, England, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 289 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.11.2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    March 2022 onwards - Come & join us in rural Somerset in the South West of England.

    We can host either a couple or two friends travelling together to help us in our home & garden. We prefer hosting a couple or 2 friends travelling together, as we know from experience that our house, lifestyle and our work-life balance is better suited to hosting two workawayers. Ideally we’d love to host you for a minimum of 10-14 days and for up to 4 weeks.

    We are a busy, welcoming, happy household based in a rural part of Somerset in the south west of the UK, we border Devon and Dorset and out county town is Taunton. Our 2 children, (24&26) are now living away from home. We have lived in Somerset for 16 years after 20 years of living in London. We both work from home and I (Sophie) am studying nutrition and work as an event/wedding caterer and my husband, Paddy, runs a wine business.

    We are looking for enthusiastic workaway guests who can really commit to helping us and be part of the family. We are happy to offer flexibility with helping hours so that any workaway guests can find time to visit the area and explore. We ask our workaway guests to help for 5 hours per day so 25hrs per week, there is plenty of down time for exploring the beautiful area and having some fun. We provide good accommodation, good food and hopefully good company! We will ensure that you have free time to suit your expectations of visiting Somerset and the South West of England.

    If you wish you could condense your hours some days, finish early to have time to enjoy your afternoons or work longer days so that you can have a few extra days off to explore the area.

    We want our workaway guests to feel at home with us and become part of the 'home' team. You will have the opportunity to experience English culture and get a taste of English country life. We help our workaways improve English skills as much as possible and enjoying learning about their home culture and travels. We expect our workaway visitors to live and help as part of the family, sharing some of the general household duties. We are not vegetarian but happy to try and accommodate special diets where possible.

    This year we need help and support with several projects in the garden so if you are free please think about getting in touch. We have had workaways living with us since before the Corona Virus lockdown and have achieved so much with their wonderful help. 30 weeks of full on workaway help in our garden has been transformational - there is still plenty to do. This years project include removing a hedge, planting a few more trees, maintaining the orchard and vegetable garden, laying down new gravel in the vegetable garden and planting some bulbs. We are also planning on painting more of the house. We have made a start on this but we have 30+ windows that now need painting over the summer months and a few internal rooms too.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We enjoy meeting new people from all walks of life, sharing conversations and exchanging stories about our different countries and lifestyles, community, politics, energy, economics, history and more. It is always interesting learning about different cultures and approaches to living. Hosting workaway guests is an amazing opportunity for this!

    We enjoy hearing about life in our volunteers' country of residence, about personal journeys, families and backgrounds, and we are very happy to help people improve their English as we work, eat and chat together!

    We can help you plan your journey and give you information to find the best way to arrive here.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for enthusiastic workaways to assist with gardening, maintenance, painting/decorating. Any experience of these DIY skills and/or woodwork/carpentry, brickwork would be a bonus!

    We would generally ask helpers to help 25 hours per week, i.e. 5 hours per day, with 2 days off per week.

    We have been very luck to have had a stream of wonderful workaway helpers who have been with us since March 2020.

    Some upcoming tasks in the garden include orchard pruning, planting vegetables, weeding, hedge trimming, path clearing, bramble clearing, mowing and strimming long grass.

    We would love to host someone with a love of nature and gardening. Our garden is a haven for wildlife. And we live in a very rural area so you need to enjoy your own company and the peace of rural life! We are the perfect hosts for workaway guests who enjoy walking.

    In our home we have plans to redecorate some bedrooms and living areas. So workaway helpers with plenty of enthusiasm and some knowledge and experience of DIY would be great. Previous painting experience is useful.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own double room with a private shower/bathroom. There is free wifi, plenty of space to relax, tv and a large warm kitchen. All food is provided, with breakfast available for you to help yourself to, a simple light lunch is provided and evening meals will be eaten as a family when possible, for example we will try to all eat together at least 3 nights a week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are in a very rural area.

    We are not near any shops and it is a 25 min walk to the nearest village.

    We can sometimes provide transport to the nearest towns when possible and there are local buses nearby.

    Our nearest village does have a small shop and a wonderful pub.

    Our local town is Langport and has all basic amenities.

    There are amazing walks surrounding us and numerous local attractions to enjoy.

    Public transport is limited here but a lift to the nearest bus/train would usually be available for when you want to explore further afield.

    The sky is dark at night allowing for great star gazing.

    We have easy access to the surrounding countryside.

    So we are a great place to stay if you enjoy time outdoors away from busy life!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our wifi is ok but we don't have fibre optic broadband yet.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space for parking of campervans and cars.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 412327559917