Help with my eco-project - a food and forage garden in East Devon, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 221 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Tessa. I live in the beautiful countryside of East Devon, near Colyton, with my little dog Daisy (4 yrs old, a wire-haired dachshund cross collie so she likes ball games!) and occasionally grown-up children who enjoy travelling when not at University.

    I live ecologically using wild and garden herbs, recycling or re-using everything and resourcefulness is the way I like to do everything!

    I enjoy the marvels of the natural world and want other to do so too. I am open and enjoy sharing what I have. I am hard working and practical. You do not need to be exactly like me as I am not good at many things but I do expect you to respect my ways and give gratitude to the plants and creatures around us. I welcome those that can bring skills to move my project forward that is as much about re-wilding as it it about herbs, food and creativity. I have a passion to share what I know but also to create a way others can access their intuition towards nature and it's magic.
    I honour the plants and the energies they bring, I welcome those that want to bring their positive energy to support this project

    I am looking for help with mainly construction for the Eco-project - STONEY ORCHARD Permaculture Project - the Food and Forage Garden being an important element of this. Our aim is to grow plants and community naturally with soul and spirit. We envisage people and plants in harmony, developing creative spaces to nurture understanding, wisdom and knowledge of nature around us.

    During the coming months we will be:

    *️️️️️️ Building a compost toilet
    *️️️️️️ Creating a drinking water system from collected rain water
    *️️️️️️ Planning and creating workshop space
    *️️️️️️ Planning and creating solar and wind power systems
    *️️️️️️ Clearing out the barn
    *️️️️️️ Maintaining current plantings

    I like to use materials that come from the land (or locally) with the project. The Food and Forage Garden is on an elevated location, overlooking the sea to the distance and has other projects happening.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I live in a beautiful area of East Devon with walks from the doorstep and the beach at Seaton about 5 miles away. There is an abundance of wildlife in the garden and surrounding areas. There are a number of small towns within close reach that have activities and events happening through the season. Beer, 7 miles away, is an ancient fishing village where the boats are brought up onto the pebble beach when they come in from fishing. There are a number of regattas happening during the summer at these little towns with opportunities for you to get involved!

  • Aide

    Aide

    I garden organically and along bio-dynamic and permaculture principles.
    The required help for the Project begins with construction and alteration of existing sheds into workshop space. We will also create an undercover growing space and develop the electrical works required for an off-grid solar/wind system. Other tasks include clearing areas, moving brashing to create dead hedges, moving wood-chip mulch, mowing/scything and working in different plots to create vegetable and herb growing areas.
    On-going designing is happening so if you are experienced in permaculture your advice would be very welcome.
    I also need assistance with advertising, website maintenance and grant applications!

    SO if you can provide assistance with with my Food and Forage Garden project at Stoney Orchard, please get in touch!!

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English plus very little french Spanish and Italian

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The house is homely and comfortable with 4 bedrooms and a half acre garden with views over the Coly valley. I like to cook with living nutrition, working with fresh, sprouted and fermented foods. Duties around the home will be shared so it is kept orderly and clean.

    You will have a room to yourself, or a shared room, and use of a bathroom/shower room. Meals will be cooked and shared together, with whoever is around. They will be vegan or vegetarian with no cow products! Much of the food comes from the house garden or The Food and Forage Garden. There is space for you to get away for some peace or to join in with events and activities that are happening.

    I expect you to clean and keep the areas tidy this is not included in the working hours quoted.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are good bus links to other towns (from Colyford) and the train station is not that far away either (15 minutes drive, 40 minute cycle). I am 1.5 miles from Colyton. You can walk along the river or borrow a bike to explore a bit further.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















N° de référence hôte : 396952187453