Help with gardening & DIY in rural Scotland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 124 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the small village of Kippen in Central Scotland. Our house is in a large garden and we grow most of our own vegetable and fruit. We have a polytunnel where we grow vegetable. We have been in Kippen for over 15 years now and love all kind of outdoor activities on offer in this beautiful part of the world. We share our garden with 2 dogs, 1 cat and hens. Our retired pony lives on a field nearby.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We like to socialise but are frequently travelling or working late. We would therefore prefer to have 2 friends or a couple stay. We would hope to share at least 1 meal per day which will have to be quite flexible. We are vegetarian . Our family is bilingual and we speak English and German together.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our garden has gotten out of control and we need some help to get on top of brambles, nettles, ivy ... Also we are trying to turn more of the lawn into a wildflower meadow which requires digging out the top layer and preparing the soil for the wildflower seed. All this is quite hard, physical work. The climate in Scotland is hard on buildings and there is always painting to be done . We have a biomass boiler and chopping and stacking wood is a nerver ending activity. Any help with this would be appreciated and DIY skills arewelcome.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Thai: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is in a cottage in our garden. It has a bedsit with 2 single beds & TV, a bathroom with shower and a large, well equipped kitchen. There is a patio in front of the cottage. Our cottage is strictly non-smoking.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Kippen is a really friendly village a great place to live. Its situated on the edge of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs national park and has easy access to all sorts of outdoors activities within a short drive. Alternatively there are many scenic walks within the village and environs. Kippen is a real community with a choice of two busy pubs, a deli/coffee shop and farm shop on the edge of the village. Additionally we have a post office/general store and a quality family butcher selling local meat and a variety of ready to eat home-made food. Both pubs stock a range of beers including those made by our very own micro brewery. Kippen is an ideal base for outdoor activities like hill walking, golfing, kayaking, cycling, open water swimming, tennis and many more. Whiskey distilleries as well as many of Scotland's historic sites and museums are within easy reach.

    Getting around
    We have a bus service which connects the village to Stirling and Balfron and then via trains or buses to the major cities of Scotland. The railway and coach stations in Stirling are 10 miles away and the First Bus No 10/12/C12 connects Kippen to Stirling and Glasgow via Balfron. The bus stop is a few steps from our house. Connections are not great but ok. Check out First Bus website!
    The train from Stirling takes an 45 minutes to Edinburgh and 40 minutes to Glasgow and connections are good - at most times every 30 minutes.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours per day

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 394425532991