Welcoming a little help with some homestead projects in Texas, USA



Enregistré comme favori 14 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description



    We (husband and I) have a modest funky incomplete country home that I have been personally building for many years on some rural Texas land; but we are getting older and I am having some health challenges which have slowed me down. I need help organizing my workshop and getting some DIY work done around the house. I have opened too many projects and now don't have the energy to get them all done. I have a lot of collected materials and REALLY don't want to turn into an episode of "Hoarders". I stumbled upon this website and it seems like an ideal arrangement. I supply some hospitality and you supply some extra joules of energy to take my projects over the finish line. Win/Win. I ran an online rental for a year when I was 45 and loved the experience so I am looking forward to hosting world travelers again. We are 55 now and have 5 acres of former pasture land near some wild pine forests in central Texas. We dug our own well and have an all natural above ground pool (no chlorine, the pollinators need water too!) to enjoy if you don't mind some cute little green frogs in there and a few water bugs. I am a good cook and will feed you well. We usually get our eggs, meat and vegetables from local ethical organic sources. We both value sustainable and ethically raised food. Next year I hope to put in my own raised bed gardens and chickens. I don't mind rising to the challenge of feeding a vegan or vegetarian. I also have a small apiary with several hives. It is just us here now that our children are grown but we have an elder cherished uncle living on the land in his own RV and have neighbors next door that we consider friends. So while our place is definitely wild and remote, there are also nice people around. The place is surrounded by forests and pastures and peace. Austin is an hour away and we go there fairly often so anyone we hosted would have chances to see both the Texas country side (cows can be seen from your bedroom window) but also experience Austin which is a tech hub and live music capital of the world (SXSW, ACL, etc). We own a share of a communal house right in the middle of Austin (near downtown and the University) and we can arrange to go into the city and we usually have a guest space in that home as well. I would think a pair of traveling young people would be a good fit for us. They could enjoy some Texas ranch country but also see Austin and partake in all that Austin might have to offer. But we are open to single travelers or couples. We are liberal, tolerant, well educated people and happy to host all cognitive styles and any kind of folks as long as they are kind and ethical. Humans come in such a variety and variety is the spice of life! Can't wait to meet interesting people as well as get my dang workshop organized. If we zip through it there might be time to build the outdoor wood burning stove-turned bread oven I have been dreaming about for a decade.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Besides learning about Texas culture (it's not all bad!), I have skills and knowledge pertaining to natural beekeeping (i have hives on the land), herbalism, carpentry, GAPS protocol and gut health, I am a good cook and baker. I have worked as a carpenter, auctioneer stenographer, pie baker, aviation secretary, a woodworking teacher, a writer, a maid, a waitress, a nanny, a professional assistant, a cook. I spoke Spanish before English but now only consider myself fluent in English. I am a bit of an oddball but authentic and very kind. I communicate well. But be warned, if you start asking me about bees I might never shut up. :) Anyone out there with 'special interests' will understand...

  • Aide


    The first thing I would like to do is to pull apart my woodworking shop that has become hoarded up and unusable and organize it again taking away materials and tools I no longer need. This would not require any special skills. There is plenty more to do if we finish this first project quickly. I have some carpentry jobs etc waiting to get done as well and some fun DIY ideas too. Nothing extreme, no roof or foundation or framing. Nothing grueling but if this were to happen in the summer months we WOULD have to get an early start. This is Texas.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Private upstairs guest room with attached private 1/2 bathroom. There are two beds (one full size and one twin) in this space as well as a loveseat and other pieces of furniture. We have a television up there with cable and movie channels. The bathroom isn’t completely cosmetically done but has a working sink and toilet. Then outdoors we have a cedar/metal panel lined shower and commode. There is also a bathtub inside my private bathroom that I could share as well if people really wanted to take baths - but the outdoor shower is everyone’s favorite.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On the land you could take hikes through the pastures and some woods. We have a 25' round above ground pool for swimming. There is an outfit a few miles away that host various kinds of music and events. It is called "Snake Prairie Events" on road 304. We could provide your transportation to and from or lend you a car if you are a legal driver. A few miles farther down the same road is a special BBQ restaurant with guest cabins dedicated the movie "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" because it was filmed there a million years ago. We could also arrange trips to Austin and provide accommodations for those stays as well. I would expect to provide transportation. We are part owners of a large communal home in central Austin and spend some of our time there. The city place usually has a dedicated guest space that we can reserve for you. So anyone we hosted could get the country experience but ALSO enjoy the nightlife and music scene Austin has to offer. We would provide accommodations at either place and we could shape our schedule around our guests wants and needs to a large extent to provide the transportation necessary. Once in Austin there is a bus system too.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    My husband is a computer programmer and works remotely out here. His requires good internet access so I am sure we can provide fast enough internet for digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I built a complete outdoor shower bathroom with a flush commode which anyone traveling in their own vehicle could use and is accessed from outside my home. You could use these facilities and not fill up your black tank while staying here. There is also a laundry room accessible from outside that you are welcome to use. We have fast internet service (my husband is a remote computer programmer) and our land is fairly level. We have an underground tornado shelter for rare, but possible, dangerous storms and an outdoor above ground natural swimming pool to enjoy as much as you like.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Only if they can stay outside my house so I suppose this would only be people traveling in their own motorhomes or vans. Our place is pretty wild and there are coyotes, pigs and sometimes maybe bobcats in our vicinity at night.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 388363822296