Help with an orchard and adobe construction near Samaipata, Bolivia



Enregistré comme favori 467 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️CAN ONLY ACCEPT VOLUNTEERS WITH TENT!!! PLEASE REPLY WITH SUBJECT "TENT" THANKS IM WRITING IN CAPITALS TO DRAW ATTENTION NOT COZ I'M ANGRY!*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    I’m Ruth from Manchester, England, and for some reason have been blessed with the good fortune of living here. I’m in the mountains 8km above Samaipata. After many years of travelling I finally found my place- 1 ½ hectares, around 200 fruit trees and built my adobe house facing the famous El Fuerte. The ultimate goal is for self-sustainabililty which means working hard but also enjoying the fruits of the labour. Fires, music and vegetarian food (you can cook meat) under the stars and generally appreciating nature. An experimental indoor oyster mushroom project has just been launched so anyone who wants to be part of the mushroom millions monopoly is welcome! I ask a minimum of a week stay so I can organise food, and we work 25 hours per week (20 in tent) which volunteers can decide how to manage their time, depending on weather and projects. There are several like-minded people living close by to share ideas and help each other out for variety. No experience necessary but a willingness to contribute and exchange ideas and energy is essential. At the same time, any experience or knowledge of permaculture and/or natural building would be a bonus. Shroom connoisseurs would be particularly welcome right now.
    I'll be honest-it's not the cushiest workaway round here but if you like physical work in the outdoors in a beautiful place, I'd really appreciate your help. I have 2 dogs and a cat who supervise and quality control all work and volunteers, random chickens always getting in the way and the occasional stray cow/horse so it's essential you are beast friendly.
    I generally like to make the most of daylight so get up and go to bed pretty early so evening entertainment is up to you. I might occasionally play yahtzee or games if you let me win.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Chance to learn about living self sustainably and off grid in an area of Bolivian campesinos and like minded extranjeros. Living dictated by nature rather than schedules. Being so far from nearest shop/decent internet/24 hr elec can be quite an experience for some.
    Orchard maintenance, growing veg/mushrooms, natural building. Languages-English and Spanish. And some really bad German(- just the most useless words n phrases).
    Stargazing-I'm no teacher but there's a pretty good view from my place.
    Vegetarian diet....seeing how easy, healthy n hopefully tasty it is!! More than happy to share cooking skills n tricks (both ways) n go more vegan-ish if vols want but also have no interest in converting anyone.

  • Aide


    Help needed maintaining the orchard-harvesting, pruning, clearing.
    Natural building, maintenance/restoration. The old house has been converted into a mushroom workshop(2 rooms) and a toolshed(1room). Would be great to tile the corridor floor outside and finish the reboque outside
    Currently (may-oct 2021) work entails: clearing, clearing, clearing-with machete/hoe, pruning fruit trees, juicing oranges, harvesting citrus, maintaining/improving water channels, indoor mushroom production, and some construction/building maintenance. Any experience/advice for indoor oyster mushroom project very welcome. Ive been producing for over a year now but the system could use alot of improvement.
    Would really like to build a house for next doors i can plant some veg......and not spend 2hrs a day egg hunting/have 10 new chicks every day......materials arent a problem.....cunning and planning is key....

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    Coming back soon:(Double bed in small private volunteer adobe building and a single bed on a mezzanine in my home.)
    Right now: Plenty of room for camping. Communal kitchen and bathroom with gas hot shower. Can hotspot internet if volunteers really need it and willing to pay for data but signal can be intermittent in bad weather. Electric is solar powered n therefore limited. With lots of rain it can be difficult/impossible to get a taxi but always possible to walk to town-8km...takes me 1hr to main rd, 1.5 to plaza. Im sure the government will install a zipline soon.
    I have 2 dogs and a cat. The neighbour has two dogs n a lot of chickens that are often on my land so anyone with allergies should probably stay away. Being right next to Amboro there's also a whole host of's not like they're in your face all the time but they live here too.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I am facing El Fuerte ruins and on the border of Amboro National Park about 100m (I think) above the village.
    There is a multi-cultural vibe in Samaipata with more n more restaurants and bars by the day. Weekends are best for the market.
    The weather is usually pleasant all year round but winter can get quite cold at night sometimes (down to 3º). #minus 2° july 2021 😱😂
    There are waterfalls, hikes n plenty of off road biking/motorbiking nearby with rentals n guides possible in town. Animal refuge, outdoor swimming pool n look out point all within walking distance of plaza. No problem if volunteers want to leave my phone number with tour agencies in town for tours further afield.
    Easy onward transport to Santa Cruz, Sucre, Cochabamba and pretty much anywhere from Santa Cruz.
    Taxis to/from village cost 50bs mototaxis 15/20bs but after lots of rain the only way is the 2 foot express....walking-1-2hrs depending how fast you walk.
    Only one ATM in town- banco union- which doesn't accept all cards but changing US dollars is always possible in town.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Whatever size very welcome... just that the driveway and the road from the village can get tricky with lots of rain....😏

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Ive got 2 dogs n a cat n the neighbour has 2 dogs...and lots of fuckin chickens.... but if u got a travelling sure we can work it out. If it will kill all the chickens.....bring it on!!! Hahaa

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 381544486687