mis à jour  

En quête d'extraterrestres à Roswell, Nouveau-Mexique

  • Enregistré comme favori 599 fois
  • Activité récente: 4 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I am an older woman, living on five mostly undeveloped acres just outside Roswell, N.M. (yes, THAT Roswell) who needs help, mostly outside. I have two llamas, three goats, a mini donkey, three ducks and two dozen or so chickens, along with four cats. I also have plants to water, gardens to plant, weed and harvest, and am trying to make my property self-sustainable. My water comes from a windmill-pumped well, and I've just had solar panels installed which is very exciting! This makes the house comfortable with all functioning amenities (full kitchen, ceiling fans, plus great Wi-Fi that reaches way outside too). The help is nice, but just meeting interesting folks (which is what I've done a lot of over the years) is the best part. If you've heard of him, Ben Fogle visited to film an episode for his new series earlier this year! I'm also a font of knowledge about what there is to do in New Mexico (aside from Roswell aliens) and would give you lots of time to explore.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I discovered this site through another website, and quickly discovered I love meeting folks from all over the globe. There have been times when folks from countries all around the world have been at my house at once, sharing stories and experiences. Folks can learn other languages, improve their English and get to try meals from all different cultures as we all share in the cooking, and experiments are welcome.

    I'm learning to live with the land, plants and wildlife as I go, so trying new things around the property is always fun! New Mexico itself is a multicultural state, and so you can check out the ethnic and historic aspects of that as well.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am recovering from both a broken leg and hip, so my basic need is someone who can care for the animals (about an hour a day) and help me with things like laundry (I've just started doing that, yeah!), cleaning and cooking. They are easy tasks, and you’re welcome to spend the rest of your day doing what you’d like.
    Thanks to some marvelous Helpers in the past, the major (read: really hard) work is done, so now I need folks who can help maintain and develop. I lived overseas for four years and came back to a home that wasn't taken care of well by my caretaker, so I had a big cleanup on my return. But there is still reorganizing and getting everything back ship-shape. (If you're into completely going through my shed and helping plan a garage sale, I'm up for that!)

    And if you ride/repair motorcycles (and have an MC license), my bikes were also mistreated during my absence and injuries, so could use someone to ride/repair them.

    My preference is for longer-term helpers (two or more weeks) but I will consider anyone. This is NOT structured (i.e. 9-5) help. The animals have a daily routine but it’s short and simple, and as the growing season progresses, there’s daily work in the yard and garden. But other than that, what you decide to do is up to you. Much of the building/repair is done with scavenged materials and what’s on hand, so inventiveness is definitely encouraged. I love folks who come up with creative new ideas for my property!

    You are welcome to work as many or as few hours a day as you'd like. (But you will be asked to help with the animals and related chores in order to stay.) I give everyone lots of free time, but if I ask you to do something, I do expect you to respect me enough to get it done. If you are new to this, and don't think you can handle this type of environment, please do not apply. I'd rather not disappoint you.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I've taught English overseas, and it's my native language, so I can help you there. I studied Spanish for seven years, but never used it, so would like to become more fluent.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Depending on how many folks are here, you'd get a private room (shared bath) in my home, pull-out couch in the living room, or there is also a travel trailer! The trailer is currently in need of a lot of TLC, but it is a private functional space that could be wonderful if someone wanted to take it on as a project!

    There's one indoor bathroom with tub and shower (I would love to also build a solar shower outdoors and a composting toilet if you're up for the challenge!).
    The house is filled with things to do (books, vinyl records, games) so you won’t be lacking for entertainment. I have good wifi and a truck you can borrow if need be for chores (manual transmission.)
    As long as you don’t eat me out of house and home I will provide food, and there’s always eggs and the bounty of the garden, in season.
    Because I've had some recent flakes, I want to make clear this is a rural, dusty, oft times dirty environment. It is NOT the Ritz, and Roswell is a small town. I'm on the outskirts, with no public transportation, but you are more than welcome to ride with me on my regular visits into town to explore and pick up anything you may need.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Besides the alien stuff (museums, gift shops, etc.), Roswell has the Roswell Museum and Art Center, Anderson Museum of Contemporary Art, NMMI Museum, Southwest History Museum, Spring River Zoo, Bottomless Lakes State Park and BItter Lakes Wildlife Refuge.

    Roswell has a small airport, a Greyhound station, and is three hours from three big cities: Albuquerque, NM; El Paso, TX; and Lubbock TX. Carlsbad Caverns and Guadalupe Mountains National Parks are two hours south; Cloudcroft and Ruidoso (mountain communities) just to the west; White Sands National Monument two hours to the west; and Lincoln State Monument (Billy the Kid), Ft. Stanton and Capitan an hour west.

    If you'd like to see a fun video several of my WorkAwayers made about my place, let me know and I'll send you the link.

    *****COVID note: I am 70 years old, so I’m going to try to be very, very careful re: infection. I need people who are vaccinated and boosted. No ifs, ands or buts.******

    ***Another note: No guns, drugs or dogs. The dog thing is strict because both my animals and I have had bad experiences with domestic dogs in the past. Sorry, dog lovers!***

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have solid internet and my place is quiet, so if you're looking for a safe place to stay, consider my home. I have a reference from a house sitter who has been working from my home for a year.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have five acres, and can park a van or motorhome and connect it to electricity. The wifi also works outdoors.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours a day 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 372871447959

Feedback (37)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)










































Homesteading help and endless building projects in San Luis Obispo, USA
Come share time with our family in Wisconsin, USA