Eco-build Visitor Centre, animal & bird care in Scotland.

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 678 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, thank you for looking at our profile.

    Mark & Owen and their sons have been developing a conservation breeding centre for endangered birds in the lovely Scottish Borders.

    We currently care for about three hundred birds. With the help of wonderful volunteers we have planted thousands of trees, orchards, hedges and mixed woodlands to protect and provide food for the birds.

    We have several opportunities for volunteers.

    Firstly we would love someone who can help us with our websites. We are capable of carrying out the work but simply don't have time. If you have the skills to update and refresh two Wix websites then we would like to hear from you. This would be a huge help to us and we are open to your ideas and thoughts about developing our web-presence further.

    We are building a Visitor Centre constructing with straw bales. There will be lots of projects to get this building finished and open this spring. The work isn't hard or difficult it is just time-consuming.

    Other projects we have are to build an outdoor classroom, finish the flamingo house build aviaries for a variety of exciting birds. If you would like to help with these projects and the daily routines of caring for the vegetable garden, looking after young trees, helping feed the birds, and help in the gardens - then do send a message. There are many tasks and projects here so there is something for everyone's ability and interest.

    Saturday and Sunday are days off and most of our volunteers go exploring Scotland, relaxing or getting involved with Edinburgh's wonderful culture and history.

    Mark speaks German, French, Greek and Spanish. If you are travelling to improve your English then Mark will be able to help you.

    This is a welcoming place with no prejudice: we welcome all nationalities, sexualities, colours, sizes, etc

    If you would like to be a part of this adventure with the opportunity to volunteer with some awesome birds then please get in touch.

    Thank you for reading!

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a great opportunity to live amongst a variety of wonderful birds and animals.
    The village is very friendly and has a pub.
    There are regular buses to Edinburgh with all the shopping, culture and history you could wish for! There are night buses also if you fancy some drinking and dancing in Scotland's friendly capital city. The same buses go south further into the Borders where there are old towns and villages to explore.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have just built a large vegetable garden with a polytunnel and orchards. There is always interesting jobs to do in the vegetable garden and throughout the grounds.

    There are opportunities for construction of pens, fences and aviaries. If you are more interested in this kind of project then please tell us as it helps plan our work-schedule.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Greek, French, German and Spanish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a lovely cabin with a big double bed, kitchen area, electricity and wifi.

    This is an ideal volunteer position for a couple or two friends travelling together. It is possible to put another bed in the cabin.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in a pretty village with a pub, a shop and many lovely walks through rolling Scottish Borders countryside. There is a regular bus service which can take you further down into the Scottish Borders where there are fascinating towns and villages which are incredibly rich in culture and are historically important. And of course a good bus service direct to Edinburgh city centre.

    Mark and I are open to all cultures, religions, gender, sexuality etc.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












































N° de référence hôte : 368619246757