Better your skills helping on our lifestyle block and garden in Canterbury, New Zealand



Enregistré comme favori 85 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    Hi, we are a couple who enjoy meeting people from other walks of life. We live on a lifestyle block about 38 kms north of Christchurch and would welcome help with some chores/projects around the garden and lifestyle block. We enjoy hearing about people's cultures and their life experiences. We are non-smokers and this is definitely a non-smoking home and environment. We did shut down for Covid and also because there were very few helpers. Hopefully this will change soon. We do need people who are vaccinated.

    We have several cats, all rescued, and all who understand English, Truly!!! A rascal of a dog, and 4 alpacas. We share some of our land with our daughter, who lives next door, as she has several cattle to run. We do eat some of these cattle beasts.

    We are fairly laid back and enjoy a leisurely lifestyle with the occasional/regular burst of activity.

    We can use someone with just a general knowledge of gardening/weeding and some other maintenance around our lifestyle block. Also to help with putting in a pipeline so we can run taps from our water tank to water the thousands of trees we have planted and various other projects as they come up. General tidying up of our storage areas.

    We do need someone who is a trainee carpenter/handyman for helping with making some small decking projects and perhaps a small pergola . But we will be patient until this person comes along. All instruction/teaching will be given by Sam.

    Because our car is for our own use only, a Workawayer would need their own transport, especially when/if house/pet sitting.

    There is definitely help needed on the lifestyle block, but if we have done a couple or three days on that and there is a beautiful day and a picnic to be had, then that is great. Off we go.

    We have turned most of our place back into a park like sanctuary. We have wild ducks who bring their babies to live on our ponds in the Spring and they stay until their offspring learn to fly. It is so nice to just watch them go about their parental duties. We have lots of other birdlife and finally have got our first Bellbird and fantails flit around when it is their season, with swallows nesting in our other barn. We have two Bellbirds who we hope to keep here. Also fantails in spring and summer.

    As we are totally a meat eating household, who grow their own beef for eating and we are also surrounded by animals which are being grown for eating, our Workawayer experience possibly may be unpleasant for a vegan/vegetarian. Most of our meals are of meat, eggs, cheese and milk to drink etc. We have our own vegetable garden although it is in need of a dig as we have put a layer of chicken manure on the top to fertilize it for Spring. We have had vegans and vegetarians and they have enjoyed themselves but we are definitely NOT of this persuasion, sorry.

    We are looking for anyone, single or a couple, from 2-3 weeks, to longer term if we get along well together. Both my husband, Sam, and I like a home that is filled with laughter, kindness, honesty, willing help, and reciprocal respect. We do want someone who is really looking to help around our lifestyle block and definitely NOT just a casual stop before you get full time work or an overnight bed.

    We are usually in bed around 11.00 p.m. and up at 7.30 a.m. We also enjoy watching tv in the evenings if there isn't anything else to do.

    As we were home hosts for language students for 17 years we are used to people who don't have English as a first language and I would be willing to help with this. Sam is very quiet and shy so he keeps well clear of this activity. Haha.

    Well I don't know what else I can say except "Hope to hear from you soon!!" We are on Whatsapp if that helps you.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I think I have said it all in the above chapters. But language help/correction can be offered in conjunction with helping, if required, so learning language while you help out. Also joining in with some older folks who have a wealth of knowledge between them and having a good laugh. No pessimists allowed!

    Learning about which are weeds and which are plants. How to do some plumbing if you don't mind some colourful language from Sam as he dislike connecting water but has to do it. And gaining experience in other things on our lifestyle block or just about life, if you are that way inclined. People with initiative are very welcome. Plus many other things, which we are usually helping with anyway. We would like someone who is interested in being with us and having an interesting reciprocal conversation.

  • Aide


    We have a new barn that is lined, that is used as a large sitting room for Workawayers if they don't wish to share with us.

    Besides the carpentry/handyman for the decks and pergolas, it is just general help that we need. Helping build new gardens, weeding, watering the trees when there is very little rain, tidying up around the place when it needs it. Helping us with an oriental garden we are in the process of making plus other maintenance in the garden. Putting in pipe and electricity to some of the block and the paddocks. And many other things too many to list so there could be a variety of different projects available.

    At this time neither Sam nor I can envisage a 25 hour week so perhaps we can sort that out between our prospective workaway person and us. Perhaps sometimes we may do longer and then other times we would do shorter hours. It is a matter of respect or give and take perhaps, but not taking advantage from either side.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    There are two types of accommodation. We have an older caravan which can sleep a couple or just one person and use of the barn with the sitting room plus shower/toilet etc in this area. Definitely NO sleeping in the barn/sitting room area but the caravan is just opposite the doorway. Sleeping in the barn is an action which we would evict the person for as it endangers our insurance and is against our Council rules.

    Due to water restrictions showers are to be one a day and definitely limited to 10 minutes only.

    Or there is a master bedroom in the house which has an en suite, with king size bed. Again due to water restrictions showers are to be one a day and definitely limited to 10 minutes only. This is only available occasionally as we do sometimes have other people staying.

    If you are helping hard and giving to us as we would be giving to you then all three meals or supplies for Breakfast and Lunch would be supplied. Nothing too elaborate as I am a good but plain cook. We don't adhere to rigid meal times so please note this.

    Breakfast supplies would be rolled oats or cereal with some toast and jam or similar. Any additions to be supplied by Workawayer. Lunch would be sandwiches, with peanut butter, jam, cheese or similar or if you want to cook up pasta for yourself. ALL meals would be with us unless you want to be on a picnic down by the pond or something similar. There are quite a few hideaways to go to on our property.

    Evening meal can be the full main meal with meat etc. or occasionally easy, casual things like an omelette or cheese on toast etc. Usually served around 6.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m.

    We sometimes stop at a pub for an evening meal if we are coming home late after showing you all the sights. We do expect you to pay for your own meals at the pubs/hotels. But anything we cook in our home is included in your accommodation.

    Our workaway people in the past have been of the opinion that all fresh fruit, alcohol, soft drinks, etc. are their own expenses so we have accepted this as a guideline.

    Although, if it is summertime there is an orchard with peaches, plums, apples, pears and some other fruit just behind the barn and you can eat all the fruit you like from this. Except the Apricots!!!! They are MINE! Haha.

    And, after the evening meal, whoever does the cooking doesn't do the washing up.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live a short distance from several lovely walks/hikes in the mountains, not far from a river, which does dry up in the summer, There are mountain bike tracks nearby, own mountain bikes required. You would also need your own transport to get to the township which is about 8 kms away, although occasionally, depending on the length of your stay we may take you on a sightseeing trip to the mountains or to Kaikoura and the East coast. The views here, at our house, are really beautiful - we look over farmland straight out to the Southern Alps which are about 45 minutes to 1 hour away. The beach is about 30 kms away (East). Christchurch is about 38 kms away (South). There are many activities in this whole area, too many to list. Suggest you read travel brochures on what to do in the North Canterbury area, as well as Christchurch, Banks Peninsula and Selwyn area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We do have unlimited internet although sometimes, because of living in the country, it is a little slow during the day. But then we would want you to be helping on the land during the day and the reception is okay at night.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    As we are on a lifestyle block we have room for motorhomes. If you have your own power then there is a power outlet for motorhomes/caravans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 366313856918