Live in beautiful rural Galloway and help with gardening and other projects, Scotland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 69 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on 4.2 acres of mixed woodland, water and marsh in Galloway, surrounded by sheep fields and looking onto the southern uplands. We are a human couple, a dog and a cat, plus deer, foxes, moorhens, buzzards and toads. We grow as much organic food as we can in our vegetable beds, large greenhouse and fruit cage, pick and preserve fruit from the trees and enjoy seasonal foraging. We have an ornamental garden which needs some maintenance, and are currently designing a new section of garden.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have backgrounds in politics, journalism and fiction writing and enjoy sharing creative ideas. We have both traveled extensively and have experience teaching English abroad. We’d love to exchange language skills. One of us is a keen cook, who would be happy to share skills with anyone interested.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We welcome fully vaccinated people.

    We would love to host people who are enthusiastic about gardening and the natural world, and would enjoy sharing our skills with them.

    Tasks include weeding, strimming, firewood preparation, making compost, mulching, pruning, planting and harvesting.

    They may also include activities such as planting trees, building raised beds,or rebuilding garden walls, depending on your skills and preferences and whatever projects are underway during your stay.
    We all share household chores.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Arabe: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Turc: Débutant
    Urdu: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We both have experience of teaching English abroad and would love to help you improve your language skills. We'd also like to improve our language skills.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You would stay in a bedroom in our house.
    (Unfortunately the marsh cabin is not available for the coming months.)
    All food (of a high standard) is provided and we like to eat our meals together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Although we’re half a mile from our nearest neighbor, we are part of a lively rural community which always includes several Workaway volunteers. Virus-permitting, there will be fireside gatherings, parties and picnics. Cultural events happen at the Catstrand in New Galloway, at the Dalry village hall, or in Castle Douglas. There are endless opportunities for hill walking, cycling, fishing and bird watching in the area.
    We can pick you up from the nearest train station, at Dumfries or Lockerbie. Or you could take a bus to Castle Douglas. Lifts can be arranged to nearby towns.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 362734767466