Come to our countryside renovated farm and help with daily life in Galmaarden, Belgium

Country

Belgique

Enregistré comme favori 16 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 9 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Astrid (48) and Erik (62) and we live in Galmaarden (Belgium) together with Floris en Fien, our 2 adorable cats. Galmaarden is situated in the countryside at approximately 40 minutes drive from Brussels or Gent. It is a beautiful area with a hilly landscape. We are about 3kms from the train station and have a bike available for you.
    Our project is an old farm that we have been renovating for the last 13 years. And although it is not completely finished yet, it has become a beautiful place. We have a spaceous home and part of the farm is rented as a holiday home or for spiritual activities. We also have a big room for activities such as yoga, meditation etc... Other parts are still in renovation.
    We have a large garden with an orchard (12 trees apples, pears, plums) and a large kitchen garden. All is grown organically.

    Erik is an engineer working mostly from home and Astrid runs her own private practice in natural healing techniques. She also accommodates small group activities such as meditation classes, women circles, workshops etc. She works in a local flower shop about 2 days a week.

    We speak dutch (mother tongue), English, French and a little bit of German.
    Our place for a workaway is available from May to October.
    We are, and our house is non smoking. Drugg use is not allowed and use of alcohol limited to special occasions.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We try to live a spiritually oriented life in a healthy and respectful relationship with our environment and all living beings that we share our world with.
    We grow all our food organically and are always looking for better ways to preserve and proces foods and care for ourselves and the planet.
    Astrid is a medicine woman and runs a practice with natural healing techniques. She loves to share her knowledge.
    We accommodate travelers in our holiday home so we have a lot of people passing in our project. Always very interesting meetings :-).

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for a workaway who loves working around the garden, helping with planting and harvesting vegetables and fruits and process fruits into jams, dry herbs and berries, make soups and prep vegetables to freeze.
    We mostly ask for help in the garden planting, weeding, harvesting, processing harvested fruits en veggies and keeping the garden and premises free from weeds. Also some light household works helping out with laundry (no cleaning as we have a cleaning lady on weekly base). We might even ask you occasionally for a hand in renovation-related works (like going to the container park with debris, helping us clear some area's from material)
    We would love it if you like to cook :-).
    We are looking for someone who can work and function independently and has an eye for stuff that needs to be done. We like you to take initiatives and make suggestions for our project :-). We want this place to be to shared with the world and are always looking for nice ideas to do so.
    An example is that we recently opened our garden to free camping for cycling or walking tourists.
    We ask about 4hours work 5days a week, Working days can be agreed on.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a big room with a wonderful view for you. Although it is not entirely renovated yet, it is a cosy home for a few weeks. We share our bathroom. We offer 3 meals a day. We share our meals together and the cooking will also be shared responsibility.
    We are tidy people and would like our workaway to be so as wel :-).
    Sidenote: We do not have a TV and try not to be too much involved is general main stream media.... ;-).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our area 'Pajottenland and Flemish Ardennes' are great for walking and cycling. We are a 30-60 minutes train ride away from Brussels, Ghent, Antwerp, the coast or almost any place in Belgium ;-).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have very limited wifi but have a good cable internet connection.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large parking place where you could park your campervan.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 357293227651