Séjour à la ferme, île Salt Spring, Colombie-Britannique (Canada) - Venez découvrir la culture bio et durable

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 85 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 26 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a clothing designer with a studio and gardens on a shared Hobby Farm/Homestead. On beautiful Salt Spring Island I work as an Artisan at the local outdoor market and will be vending value added food products from the farm and at our farm stand. While being part of a relaxed, good natured family oriented and creative small community a on bright and open sunny 18 acres farm with 3 ponds and a forested area. We have fruit orchards, berries and vegetable gardens to care for and expand. We use only organic, all natural and permaculture practices for compost and soil, gardening of fruits, vegetables, seed saving, processing for storage and making value added farm products.

    Here on the farm and we have a private Agri-Tourism campground to enjoy living with others and learn from. Our work season is May until the end of Oct. for hosting. I like to share in work trade and and host a natural lifestyle environment with others who wish to be integrated in sustainable farming culture, help out with small building projects and become part of our community for a time.

    Longer stays are encouraged and additional campsites with power and water are available for those who have their own camping gear and or camper vehicles.

    The work exchange can vary with or without meals provided based on work week of 3 days at 5 hr/day for accommodations during your visit.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Together we would be learning about the variety of wild plants that bring bio-diversity to the land. To identify and make use of medical, edible, nitrogen fixing and edible plants suitable for value added foods, compost and Teas. Caring for plants with organic, plant based and simple landscaping methods. This natural system is integrated in our lifestyle as we learn to live together becoming more self-sufficient and prosper.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You will need to bring your own gardening gloves and seasonal rain gear with work boots and appropriate clothing for getting dirty, digging or clearing brambles etc.

    We have a large Raspberries harvest followed by Cherries in late June. Apples harvest is from September until late October for making juice and vinegar.

    Starting in the Spring we may be pruning fruit trees, training and removing blackberries, maintaining the Cherries, Apples and Flowers and Herbs and preparing the gardens for seeding and veggie starts. We'll be growing fruit trees for a new generation and by adding a nursery, mulching the vineyard, irrigating and watering, transplanting, seed saving etc. Landscaping work involves removing invasive species, excess Blackberry, Broom and Thistle (while re-using the blackberry and broom nitrogen as mulch). Expanding existing garden beds, working with composting systems, adding new soil and compost, preparing and mixing compost bins for comfrey tea, planting seasonal seedling starts while adding amendments to the soil for transplanting using hay/ mulch on the garden beds and orchards to retain moisture and to keep out weeds. Harvesting herbs and flowers for value added food products and harvesting nitrogen based plants for the gardens, sun drying and dehydrating plants for seeds and vegetable processing for fermentation. Pressing and Jarring fresh apple cider from ferment with flowers and herbs and bottling apple cider for vinegar, drying and packaging seeds from harvest. Drying flowers and herbs and packaging for teas. Did I mention weeding? :)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodations are offered in exchange for your help. The bus apartment sleeps 2 and can be used for campers tenting as a lounge.
    A common use outdoor kitchen is used to accommodate campers and socializing and cooking.
    Laundry facilities, hot outdoor shower provided along with wifi along with 3 ponds and swimming.

    Please see photos's for the renovated Blue Bus from March to end October and Bell Tent available from May to mid September with minimum one month stay. Extra campsites can be provided for people traveling with their own tents and recreation vehicles.

    Amenities included are power, water access, internet, swimming pond, hot outdoor shower and laundry facilities and central common property with an open field for pleasure use.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located close to lovely park hiking trails with beach access. We have a farm family FB thread to keep up on sharing rides to town, pot lucks and social events on the property. We have an outdoor cob pizza oven in the common area and a farm stand for vending Artisanal goods.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Campsites with water and power hook up up can be provided with shared kitchen and laundry facilities, shower and internet.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    15 hours for accommodations with shared meal/ dinner provided 3 days/ week



N° de référence hôte : 355879985467