Donnez-nous un coup de main dans notre ferme familiale avec le potager et le jardin de fleurs, Smithers, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 41 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

  • Description



    We need help harvesting and storing the winter veggies, mulching around the perennial bed and orchard. Short (two-day) to long (2 weeks) stay. I’m homeschooling my sons and working for a non-profit and I can’t keep up with the garden work!

    It a beautiful time of year here. The leaves are changing colour, the river is great for paddling, the mountain biking and hiking are at the best with no bugs!


    Help us to create a no-dig, permaculture vegetable garden!

    We bought our 66 acre property and built our home a couple of years ago. Now we are putting our efforts into developing the vegetable garden, flower beds, building a greenhouse, storing-up winter firewood and chipping up brush to attempt the no-dig gardening method, with the use of mulching and compost.

    We also work hard to preserve as much of our food as possible, through fermentation, dehydration, canning, freezing and root cellaring.

    Workawayers will help weed, plant, build perimeters and fencing, operate chipper, chop/stack firewood, harvest fruits/vegetables and help preserve/store food.

    Welcome to our family farm and garden. We work hard to grow organic food for our family and to have enough surplus to gift to others, as well as to store some in our cellar for the winter months.

    We bought our 66 acre property and built our home a couple of years ago. Now we are putting our efforts into developing the vegetable garden, flower beds, building a greenhouse, storing-up winter firewood and chipping up brush to attempt the no-dig gardening method, with the use of mulching and compost. We also work hard to preserve, can, dehydrate and freeze as much of our provisions as we are able.

    We have three lively boys ages 8, 10 and 12, who love to adventure and help outdoors. Families would be most welcome here, and children can play or help as they are able or interested.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have extra bikes, a trampoline, a lake to paddle on or swim in (only 1km away), and sporting equipment. Other children will be sure to enjoy their stay here.

    We love showing our guests around. Taking trips to the lakes/rivers, going on local hikes and showing the sights. We make time for both work and PLAY... and always love an opportunity to show visitors why we love the Bulkley Valley!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We have a large, personal vegetable garden and flower gardens. We need help with chipping wood for mulch on garden beds, building rock walls, paths, weeding, harvesting and preserving.

    Workawayers will be expected to give 4-5 hours a day each toward labour in our garden. This is not heavy work, necessarily, but it is moderately physical. We really enjoy hosting guests and learning about their country and culture. When the work is done, guests are free to enjoy their time on the property, or exploring our region. We love to show travellers the sights, and take guests on hikes or paddles or bike rides.

    We are an english-speaking family, but I (Alethia) am fluent in French and adore learning new languages!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I speak English and French. I love learning languages and am patient and happy to help others to learn English.

  • Hébergement


    We have a fully hooked-up travel trailer available as accommodation. It has a queen-size bed, and a set of twin bunks. It has its own propane stove, furnace and fridge/freezer, as well as running water/shower and toilet. It also has air conditioning if one needs to get the heat out before bed. Guests may also choose to shower in our house instead, if they would prefer more water pressure and space. We also have enough space so you can also bring your own camper and be fully hooked-up, if that is your preference. (Although we are a non-smoking family, it would be acceptable to smoke outside.)

    Guests can look forward to excellent food while staying with us. Previously working as a camp cook, means that I can whip up satisfying meals for any pallet or food preference. No mater your dietary requirements, I am up to the challenge! Guests can prepare their own breakfasts and lunches with the food provided in their accommodations… and after a full day of work and play, can look forward to supper with our family or on their own, prepared by us.
    With plenty to see and do in this piece of paradise, we hope you will consider joining us to experience it for yourself!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located in the spectacular Bulkley Valley. Smithers is known for world class salmon fishing, a variety of mountain hikes and great down-hill biking terrain. There are many lakes nearby for paddling or swimming.

    Smithers has the Mid-Summer Music Festival (mid-June), and the fall fair (end of August). There is also the Kispiox Valley Music Festival nearby (in July).
    The view lacks nothing from our location at the base of the Hudson Bay Mountain... only 1 kilometer from Seymour Lake. We have an incredible 270 degree view of the Babine Mountains, Seaton range, and Hudson Bay Mountain (Ski Resort).

    Our home is a 10 minute drive from the heart of downtown Smithers. Town is a 7 kilometer bike-ride away… though a vehicle will make the whole experience in the valley, much more accessible.

    The north is vast and transportaion options are limited. A personal vehicle is obviously optimal... but not essential. Here are some transportation options listed below:

    By air: We are 1.5 hrs from Vancouver. By car, we are roughly 1200km from Vancouver, 900km from Kamloops, and 400km from Prince George.

    Greyhound is discontinuing bus service to northern BC at the end of May 2018, making it more difficult to get here if travelling by public transportation. Other transportation options are:

    Flights to Smithers (Air Canada). We can pick up at airport.

    Flights to Terrace (Air Canada or Westjet ) and then transit to Hazeltons and then to Smithers.
    (Terrace to Hazelton: )
    (Hazelton to Smithers:
    Via Rail Train 3 days per week from Jasper/Prince George or Prince Rupert to Smithers (link is external)You can also catch the train in Terrace or Smithers.
    We are hopeful that other transportation options will become available to fill the space vacated by Greyhound, and will update accordingly.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have power and water. No sewer. We also have a trailer to host our guests with fully functional kitchen and toilet and shower.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Dogs/cats We have a dog and two cats, so guest pets much be able to get along with our pets.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 355852845275