Volunteer on our family "farm" in the Corbieres region of France.

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 22 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    45
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.04.2019

 
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family ( My parents and my sister, and myself and my husband and 2 small children) living here for the past 25 years. We live on a sort/of farm in the middle of the Corbieres region, surrounded by history; Notably the cathare castles and by picturesque landscapes and wild countryside.
    The house and land we own has thus far only been used as a rural dwelling with horses having the run of our 14 hectares of grassy hillsides and woodlands. Our aim is to get more from the land, by keeping animals for food; chickens, pigs, goats, turkeys, bees. And by making more areas available for vegetable gardening/orchards and soft fruits. We also want to renovate some parts of the main house, and the two bedroom cottage that is adjacent , this is mainly building and decorating with some plumbing and electrics. Also needing doing is land management with lots of woodland to clear, wood to cut and fences to be made/mended etc.
    We would offer a comfortable guest room either in the main house or the cottage, or else there is room for tents. The area is beautiful, with the river nearby for swimming in the summer time ( is quite cold otherwise). Carcassone is 45 minutes away, Narbonne about the same. Spain a few hours away and skiing near enough to go for the day. Possibility of riding the horses if confident enough rider.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help clearing land, woods and general overgrowth. We need help making fences for various projects. We need help doing some building, plumbing, electrics ( experience preferred but not essential). We need help doing general maintenance, gardening, renovating.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Room in the family house, shared bathroom. Possibility of camping.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have young children, so guests must be comfortable with toddlers/babies in the house.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3-5

N° de référence hôte : 355626679615