Come and help with maintaining, restoring and building activities at our farmhouse in Poitou Charentes, France



Enregistré comme favori 12 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

  • Description


    This Dutch family living in south-western France in a former farmhouse is looking for cheerful, responsible and hardworking helpers who can assist us with the daily ongoing things in our household as well as with everlasting (so it seems) restoration work and maintenance of the premises. This would include stonework, maintenance of the fences and hedges, pruning, gardening. We are also preparing new building activities with which we could use your help.

    As we are busy teaching and coaching students and work on personal projects (Beer just wrote a book about Digital Hospitality), any help with the maintenance and restoring of this beautiful place and premises would be very welcome. We do appreciate autonomous and creative minds and love discussing the projects we are working on.
    We have four children in the Netherlands and two daughters in France; our youngest daughter (15) is the only one still living at home.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As we do with all our guests, we would like to share this wonderful property with workawayers, as we think that working together is a great way to learn important competencies and to build lasting relationships. We have had some experience with a Swedish and some Dutch helpers for a couple of years. Workawayers can learn some French with us and explore the area (depending on whether they have a drivers licence) or can come with us to Niort and La Rochelle to visit these cities when we have to go there for work or get you on a bus at the nearest city.
    Helpers and workawayers can benefit from the insights into family and professional life in the French countryside while enjoying space and tranquillity inside the house and in the near environment.
    As a Dutch family living in France, and also because of our professional activities, we are constantly reflecting on and highly interested in the cultural aspects of living abroad and the implications of hospitality. How do workawayers learn to navigate the different cultures they encounter and how do hosts do so?

  • Aide


    We have a great choice of things to be done :-). We are currently looking for people who can help us with the following:
    - installing a new kitchen
    - building a sort of "tiny house" (two small "garden pods")
    - restoring a wall (woodwork)
    - work on the premises (gardening, restructuring)
    - stonework
    - cleaning and help in our house
    - preparation of building activities

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Dutch: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Depending on the period you will stay with us, we do have a fully furnished caravan or in-house guestroom available. One of the projects includes preparing a second in-house guestroom, with kitchen and shower area :-)!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is no local transportation, but we commute to the city of Niort on an almost daily basis. The area around our house is ideal for walking and cycling.
    We have a piano and three libraries for those who like reading and enough space to be able to isolate yourself when you need personal time. During summer season, you can enjoy time at the swimming pool!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 354651721954