Help around the family home in Aigaliers, South of France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 464 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    73.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 21 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️

    OCT 9th - OCT 31st 2021 - one couple with shared skills of easy maintenance, simple repairs, general housekeeping like cleaning, laundry etc. End date could be negotiated.

    NOTE: minimum time requested is 4 weeks.

    *

    Hello!

    I am French and my wife is Indian and we recently made our dream come true and bought a beautiful home in the South of France. The house is an old and dignified lady - full of charm and stories, rooms full of personality and vivacity and people pass through, spending a few sleeps within her walls.
    We are running it as a guest house and are often taken up with business duties so
    we need help with chores around the family house such as laundry, cleaning the rooms or anything one might do in a (very big) family home, you do not need to participate in the business or talk to guests unless that is something you enjoy. We also try to match skills to the kind of tasks we need help with around the home as much as possible.
    We do have a friendly, young cocker spaniel - so please keep that in mind if you are allergic or don't like dogs!

    We are both very interested in the arts, culture, nature, anthropology and philosophy. We have lived in Africa for a long time and have recently moved to France to start this new life.
    Tanur has worked in hospitality and wildlife conservation - her big passion. In the past I have worked as an agronomist, a photojournalist and also as a teacher of french literature.
    We are also both deeply passionate about the environment and human impact and are trying to adopt a less consumeristic lifestyle. Vegetarians and vegans, meat eaters and hunter-gatherers - all are welcome; we just ask you to be mindful of your choices (how you use and dispose plastic, turn off electricity when not in the room etc) when you are in the home (or anywhere in the world).

    We hope to meet interesting people, exchange meaningful moments and share our home and experiences with those who come and live with us.

    We will from time to time do things together such as cook meals, eat together or go out into town for drinks or a coffee and at other times, you will make yourself a meal or spend time reading or on your hobby. We will also be happy to introduce you to the area and the necessary French essentials!
    Thus, we think the right "fit" is someone who is independent, happy in their space, respectful of others and is not bored spending some time in the quiet (but beautiful!) countryside.

    You will have either a private or shared room and a bathroom. You will only share the room with other women (if you're a woman) or other men (if you're a man).
    Food is provided, three meals every day and a help-yourself-whenever-hungry policy :). We think of workawayers as an extension of our family when with us.
    Helping hours will vary between 20-25 hours a week.

    We have a swimming pool which is great for hot days, and there's a fire place in the dinning for the colder months. The garden offers little nooks for reading, the village is very charming and great walks are right on your doorstep. Uzes - a very pretty medieval town with cafés and shops - is also accessible by bus at a walking distance of 2min/7mins/20 mins depending on time of day and corresponding bus schedule.

    Other towns and cities to discover in your time off are : Avignon, Arles, Nimes, Montpellier.

    You can contact us and we will revert soon!

    Warm regards,

    Gilles and Tanur

    *️
    OCT 1st - OCT 31st - one couple with shared skills of easy maintenance, simple repairs, general housekeeping like cleaning, laundry etc. End date could be negotiated.

    NOTE: minimum time requested is 4 weeks.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are both well- travelled and have spent significant portions of our lives abroad - I (Gilles) grew up between Argentina and France and then moved to Africa for 35 years. My wife (Tanur) is Indian but lived in Tanzania for the past 7 years. We both are very interested in culture, philosophy and anthropology.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a swimming pool which is great for hot days, and there's a fire place in the dinning for the colder months. Normal work includes cleaning the family house, maintaining the garden, assisting with maintenance when needed, helping with laundry.
    We are also happy to use any special or specific skills, if they can be applied to our place and the workawayers enjoy something in particular!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Gujarati: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is one dedicated bathroom and shower to be shared by workaway volunteers. There is also a private room to be shared by workaway volunteers (maximum 2 to a room).
    It is an old house full of character and volunteers are welcome to use the pool, gardens and other common areas while remaining respectful of our guests.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 9 kms from Uzès, a picturesque and very visited town in the South of France. Often counted as one of the "must-see" towns of Provence, Uzes is full of alleys and small cafes and restaurants. Avignon, Arles and Nimes are all accessible by bus. Nature around the house is truly outstanding and lovely trails in the French wilderness and countryside begin right behind our home.
    We are surrounded by wine and small farms and olive groves.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)















N° de référence hôte : 866625859876