1 / 5

Help us to take care of the farm animals, garden and learn more about sustainable living in Kamiesberg, South Africa

  • Afrique du Sud
  • Enregistré comme favori 50 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are a couple living on a farm in a rural area in the Kamiesberg region of semi-arid Namaqualand province, Northern Cape Province, South Africa. We share our home with goats, five cats, two dogs, and a rooster. We try to practice a self-sustainable lifestyle as far as possible and grow much of our own produce in our grow tunnel. We enjoy creative projects, and once a month we attend the local market in the small town nearby, where we sell food and home-made products. Managing the farm keeps us very busy as there is always a project to undertake, such as gardening, building, animal upkeep, and general maintenance of the farm. There is also space to hike and mountain bike, as well as a lot of wild life to experience.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Participants will be able to learn a lot about self-sustainable living on a farmstead and will be able to gain knowledge on all sorts of things, such as borehole and solar power maintenance, care of livestock, and growing of produce. They will also be able to learn about the local cultures in the area by interacting with the local community where possible.

  • Aide


    We would need help with general maintanance on the farm such as structural repairs, fence line maintenance, assiting with camp clean-ups, animal enclosure clean-ups & general care to the animals on the farm. We will aslo need help with gardening & general upkeep to our homestead.

  • Langues parlées

    Afrikaans: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have enough room for people to stay comfortably, and rooms will be provided either in the farm's spare house or in the main house with us. 

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The closest town to our farm is 30km's away. There is a large town situated 60km's away, where you will be able to experience stock car racing (only if races are on). There is space to hike & lots of wildlife to experience. Public transport is not really available in the area, however we will assist with transport where possible. There is also a nature reserve situated roughly 7 kilometers away from the farm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Any animal that is domesticated is welcome on our farm.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 353937927842

Feedback (2)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help me with creative DIY and eco-construction projects in Swellendam, South Africa
Come and help at a busy backpackers lodge and enjoy cultural exchange in Hermanus, South Africa