Help with Renovating our Cottage in the Woods with a Family in the Cotswolds, Gloucestershire England.

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 173 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have built onto and are renovating a cottage in the woods. We do most of the work ourselves and it would be great if you would like to help us sharing your skills or learning new ones. It is IMPORTANT that you have DIY, BUILDING EXPERIENCE and are PRACTICAL. But at the moment we could do with someone who is has GARDENING skills. We have been hosting Workaways for a year now and have met many wonderful people. If you join us we hope you will become part of the family while you are here.
    We are a busy family living in the Cotswold countryside, a beautiful part of the country. We live half a mile into the woods where it is peaceful and quiet but only a short walk to the village shop, a slightly longer walk through a gorgeous valley to the local market town of Nailsworth which is full of independent shops. Good transport links take you to Stroud, Bristol, Bath, Gloucester and beyond.
    We are Mum, Dad, two children, a 18 year old girl and an 11 year old boy, one very fast lovely lurcher dog, two cats who keep the dog in his place and 80,000 honey bees!
    We are a busy family and up until recently home educated. I am a teacher of young people with learning difficulties such as autism in a college with a Steiner philosophy and my husband works in IT.
    We are looking for someone we can welcome into and share our busy lives and to help with the work of building our house extension some of the time and to join in with the requirements of family life as well.
    Both my children love living in the woods. My daughter for it's tranquillity and my son for the many opportunities of fire making, den building and generally getting as muddy as possible. They both love board and card games, football, ice skating, Lego, philosophy and discussions. My daughter is a bit of a scientist and her Dad is a mathematician. I am a musician and like the arts and have an interest in alternative health therapies and educational philosophies. We have some great dinner time conversations!
    We like to celebrate the seasons through craft , song and nature activities as well as cultural community gatherings...and most of all living in the woods.
    PS The photos of the children are a couple of years old now but they are so great I can't bear to remove them.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We would love to hear about your food and culture and also share with you about ours. We love to eat and cook believing food to often be at the heart of culture and gives insight into how people live. We look forward to sharing both ways and learning from you as well as you from us.
    You are very welcome to join us on our days out if you wish or facilitate your own exploration.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are a busy family enjoying life and doing up our cottage in the woods. We have built a rather large extension to the house and we need someone to help my husband fixing up the inside ie building and DIY part of the time and also to come and share our days out and about with us if you would like or helping in our home. This includes cooking, cleaning, playing games with the children and learning alongside them, walking the dog or working in the garden. All the sorts of things you would expect when running a home. Most of the DIY will be at the weekend when my husband is not at work. Our house is definitely a work in progress.
    Volunteers need to be enthusiastic, be able to use their initiative, pro-active and self-motivated to work alone sometimes. Everyday is different so flexibility and spontaneity is important too as is maturity.
    A love of life, a positive outlook and a willingness to share in our busy, fun and diverse family life is a must. We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own accommodation in the caravan in our garden in the woods or if someone is already in there in one of the (almost) finished rooms in the house. The caravan has two double beds, a dining table, cooker, sink, fridge, a loo, a heater, the internet and lots of cupboards. We would like you to join us for meals but you also have the means to cook something should you need an extra midnight feast! It is also your own space to have quiet time when you need it. You will have use of the bathroom in the house as well as the lounge and kitchen. We love our caravan but it is an old one.
    Our house is friendly and busy and often in a state of transitioning from one activity to the next be it creative, on a journey somewhere or DIY. Our house is most definitely not spotless living in the woods as we do with children and animals coming in and out from playing but I try and keep it a little tidy.
    There is lots of parking, sheds for bikes and storage for your things. I can collect you from the train in Stroud or the bus in Stroud or Nailsworth.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Gloucestershire is such an amazing county that it would be impossible to list everything. The glorious rolling hills of the Cotswold countryside is literally outside the front door with many walks and cycle routes which go for miles. Nearby Gloucester is full of history, cosmopolitan Cheltenham is buzzing with culture and Bristol is a big city offering everything you would expect from a thriving city. Closer to home is the beautiful market town of Nailsworth and the alternative health and cultural capital of Stroud.
    We are often out visiting and exploring and you would be very welcome to join us on our excursions or we can help you to explore the area yourself.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Horse agility with Auntie C's one eyed Shetland pony.
"I am a teenager. Why are you taking my photo?!!!"
About to sail our little Mirror dingy.
Ah! They are so lovely together.
Visiting an open cast mine.
Lolly stick challenge at Technology For Fun Club
Chemistry lesson in the lab. "Is there anything else I can set fire to?"
Knitting in Aunty B's shop.
Paddle boarding at the local lakes.
Outside our front door

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











N° de référence hôte : 346378157175