Fun in the midnight sun, cultural exchange and help with our projects in Eagle River, Alaska, US

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 146 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Taking good advantage of our short Alaskan summers, we will be working hard in the great outdoors. Lots to do and a small window of time to do it! We would LOVE some help on our two amazing bus/tiny home projects. This could include things such as painting and sanding, as well as general clean-up and gardening help. I love to make rock gardens, collect fossils, and putter around on the nearby lakes in my kayak.

    We can help you with your English, and would love to find someone to practice Japanese and/or Spanish with!

    Winters are long up here, so the best times for working on things (and enjoying the Alaskan experience) are May, June, July, and August. But for the hardy souls out there, we would love some help starting in April. Accommodations are dry bus's turned into tiny homes. They are pretty fun! Shorter stays are welcome! You might get bored if you try to stay with us for too long but if you like the outdoors, Alaska is a beautiful place to wander the woods and mountains. Just remember to take proper precautions when hiking/camping!

    We are happy to offer some advice on making your journey and adventures safe up here in the great white north!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My husband and I are both Alaska lovers, with a lot of knowledge about the area and some of the better sights to see. He is a computery geologist fellow who likes messing around with technology and photography. I enjoy working outside and doing "Artsy stuff" like beading, painting, stained glass, birch-bark basketry, garden art, and stuff like that.

    We have 3 adult children who are mainly out of the house and traveling the world themselves :-)

    We have 2 cats and a dog who are very much a part of our adventure. Our dog will happily show you around the neighborhood and go for walks with you if you let her.

    We are happy to help with English tutoring, computers, and would love to have some Japanese or Spanish tutoring in return.

    We will consider loaning out bikes and kayaks to experienced folks. I won't make any guarantees though. If you are not experienced in kayaking, but you can swim and are willing to wear a life preserver vest, then I will probably be happy to give some small lessons.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Restoration and rehabilitation on a unique vintage 1963 Blue Bird Bus/Home. Painting and scraping, tree house help, wood pile help, making rock gardens, etc. We also have a small 22 foot shuttle bus that is a fun work in progress.

    I am hoping to find an adventurous soul that would like to help me with projects in Chugiak, Alaska. If you like to putter around outside, then this is the place for you!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Japonais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are happy to help with English language learning, and would love to learn some Spanish and Japanese :-)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a 42 foot bus conversion to a tiny home, and a smaller bus conversion in progress. These might be the accommodations, though they are both works in progress :-) It's not quite glamping, but I think they are pretty cool! Both accommodations are "dry", with access to a porta potty. Your are walking distance to a nice indoor pool with showers and such. There is also a great little gym with showers available for 10 dollars a month, and we are open to paying for that. One of the projects we would be working on is getting on-site shower facilities available.

    As far as having outside gear like coats, sleeping bags, extra boots, etc, we have lots of stuff we would be happy to share if needed. We will also loan out tents, bikes, kayaks, and camping equipment as well if needed. We are on several acres of lighted ski trails for mountain biking and hiking, and right around the corner from the Sled Dog Associations Dog Park and a lovely little lake that's great to paddle across and visit the Cook Inlet. There are also easy walking trails around it.

    Our spaces are non-smoking, non drugs, and drama free. We are a family oriented safe neighborhood, and definitely not a party animal establishment!

    We will contemplate how to host people safely in the time of Covid, and appreciate flexibility on this. We are all fully vaccinated, and visitors should also be vaccinated.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a bus stop within walking distance (it doesn't pick up frequently, but you can get into Anchorage on it).

    You can bike to the town of Eagle River (We are happy to provide a bike and helmet). It has a nice library, supermarkets, gyms, restaurants, etc... It is about 3.5 miles from us.

    We border on lovely ski trails (hiking trails in summer) connected to a large high-school with a pool, track, and maybe even some tennis courts in the back. There is also a nice small lake a couple of miles away that is an easy biking distance. A great place to relax and get some nice bald eagle pictures if you are lucky.

    In Anchorage there are some nice museums, nature centers, zoo, animal conservation park, and mountains, glaciers, and bears (o my)! WE are the hub of the entire state of Alaska. We have over 195 kms of paved beautiful safe biking trails, with many more accross the state. We are one of the most bike trail friendly city's around! We have designated bike trails everywhere, which makes biking a fun and relatively safe option for folks.

    Anchorage is a nice sized city. Small enough to bike across, but big enough to have good stores (REI, Cabellas, Bass Pro Shop, etc...) We also have good thrift stores and a nice little university.

    Husband commutes to Anchorage daily and can assist with some dropping off to explore the town. We are about 15 miles from Anchorage, on the edge of the wild!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Up to 22 feet probably..... Not completely sure..... Chat with us.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    All depends on the pet :-) and the situation. We have an elderly dog that runs the show, and a couple of indoor cats. We are in a great area for animals to enjoy the ski trails and woods, but honestly it really depends on the animals manners. Generally speaking, no. That being said, we love animals ourselves..... So yeah. Maybe on an individual basis (with rules). Assistive Animals are always welcome!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, But we are super flexible, and can make things work for everyone.



N° de référence hôte : 338723275328