Help us in a project that inspires people from the city and the countryside to live more sustainably in Lanjarón, Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 852 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.01.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    794

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    At the moment we are looking for one couple who are willing to stay in our caravan. We offer Vegetarian (+Eggs/cheese) food + accomodation, in exchange for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.


    - The main tasks will be gardening (following permaculture) and building (Strawbale!), help us with childcare, and general maintenaince work.


    We are in a 4000sqm smallholding located above the village of Lanjaron in Las Alpujarras of Granada. It sits at an altitude of 1100m above sea level with a view of the Mediterrenean Sea on the horizon, and on clear days, the coastline of North Africa.

    David (37, from England), Celia (41, from Spain), and our two daughters, Alma-Blossom (11) and Rowen (8) are the permanent residents on the land. When we arrived 4 years ago, the land was empty except for some olive trees that had clearly been neglected for some time. The soil was mostly bare, a compacted red clay that looked pretty infertile.


    Since then, we have built a small straw bale house to live in, and have crowdfunded and planted a permaculture food forest which has dramatically changed the appearance of the land. We’ve worked hard on improving the soil and the vegetable garden is really coming along.

    Now is the time to share all this knowledge and that is the project you would be getting involved with.

    We are focused on teaching and showing water management and is specialising in this area. We’ve already done a lot with rain water harvesting, both in tanks and in the soil through earthworks, and we’re looking into establishing and efficient greywater system.

    After water, come the trees. At the moment we have the stablished 5 years old food forest, and we are documenting the creation of a little new area, so people can learn online about what to plant, and how to planted in dry arid climates.

    We receive between 1 and 3 volunteers on a work exchange from the middle of April until the middle of June, (please do not apply other dates), and then from end-August to the end of September. We ask for 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week in exchange for full-board, or 3 hours per day, 5 days a week and you pay for your own food. The minimum stay is 1 month. The work tends to be a mixture of agricultural, construction, housework and child care. Volunteers should be happy to work in any and all of these fields.

    Volunteers camp in tents next to a caravan which acts as their kitchen / living room. We have a dry composting toilet and the shower is outside, but with hot water coming from a solar water heater.

    The food is simple, nutritious, delicious and mostly organic. Volunteers prepare their own breakfast and dinner in the caravan, whereas lunch is eaten all together at our house. Lunch tends to be vegan, but there are sometimes local eggs and cheese available for those who desire for dinner. The drinking water comes from a spring which we share with neighbours. According to analysis, it’s extremely pure, purer in fact than the bottled Lanjaron mineral water!

    We have a modest solar power system which is enough for people to charge their phones and laptops during the day, until 8pm.

    The village of Lanjaron is a half an hour walk away on the way down and 45 mins on the way up (depending of course on a person’s hiking prowess!). If we are going down by car to do something, volunteers can sometimes get a lift. From the village there are bus connections to other areas of Las Alpujarras, as well as to the coast and to Granada, which may be interesting for the 2 days off a week.

    A little extra we offer is a sitting meditation workshop followed by weekly group meditations (about twice a week) in our Mongolian yurt which acts as our office / temple. Strictly optional!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is for those wanting to change their life style and learn new skills, without forgetting the spiritual side of life; We want you to experience and learn a different way of living, organic, more sustainable, and share our daily life. If you want to improve your spanish or english, we can talk to you in the prefered language. WE DON´T MIND, and we were both teachers in the past.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    At the moment we will need SOCIAL MEDIA VOLUNTEER AND PHOTOGRAPHER.
    Our activities planned are:
    General care of the permaculture project Food forest.
    General childcare of Alma and Row
    REAL NEED FOR SOCIAL MEDIA VOLUNTEER AND PHOTOGRAPHER

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Catalan: Courant
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In tent, with access to a little cute caravan.
    The accomodation at the moment is in a big tent (Glamping but shared). We also have a little caravan, where you can have breakfast and spend some of your free time. The caravan is our multifunctions room, also PLAYROOM for the girls (our two daughters, Alma and Rowen, 6 and 3)

    En tienda más caravana.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are mainly vegan (plus sometime, honey or eggs). We do not usually eat meat on the farm. We also live with two girls, so if smoke volunteers are asked to do so in private, and always respectful of the space. We don´t mind sharing a bit of wine on an special occasion but we try not to drink alcohol.

    Very important is that we have kids, and they like to spend time, speak and play with us all. :) YOU NEED TO BE READY TO TALK AND PLAY WITH ALMA AND ROWEN if they suddendly pop up towards you.

    The area is breathtaking there are amazing walks that start on the doorgate, facing the ocean. Surprisingly near town, so that is also a plus.

    Somos veganos (comemos a veces miel o huevos). No solemos comer carne en la finca También vivimos con dos niñas, así que si los voluntarios fuman, se pide que lo hagan en privado, y siempre respetuosos con el espacio. No nos importa tomar un vino o beber una cerveza en ocasiones especiales, pero no cada día y no aquí.

    Nuestras dos niñas son muy sociales y cariñosas, y les gusta hablar y jugar con nuestros invitados... te tienen que gustar los niños!
    La zona es INCREIBLE por su belleza, varias rutas de montaña que comienzan desde la finca...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week



















N° de référence hôte : 338495173534